Tag: My Boyfriend Does My Makeup

Hey everyone, so today I have a very interesting post and that is because my wonderful boyfriend agreed to do my makeup for the “My Boyfriend Does My Makeup” tag, there is defintiely some good parts and definitely some bad parts but I really hope you enjoy this post.

The Blank Canvas
bare faced
So I’ve decided to do a photo of me with no makeup on at all, I wanted Simon to be able to work with a blank canvas and of course then we can take a look at the before and after images. Simon plumped to start with face makeup first these are the products he chose.

Face Makeup

face products
(From left to right 2true Prime Pro Perfect, W7 Flawless Magic Foundation in Buff, Natural Collection Blushed Cheeks in Pink Cloud, Technic High Lights Complexion Highlighter, Mineral Brush and the Seventeen Blusher Brush.)

After much deliberation of whether to use primer or foundation Simon rightly chose to use primer first. He used his fingers rather than a brush and made sure that my face was smooth. He then applied my foundation, he used my mineral powder brush which wasn’t the best choice and the foundation did end up looking a bit patchy. After that he applied highlighter in a smile shape across my cheekbones and then end of my nose before creating two large circles on my cheeks with my blusher using my blusher brush. I would have recommended him to also use powder and concealer and he didn’t do the greatest job with the blusher and highlighter but we both agreed that face make-up was not his forte. This is how it looked.

face makeup edit
(Apologies for the blurry photo)

Eye Makeup
The next challenge was working out what products to use for my eyes, these are the products that Simon chose, quite a Gothic look I have to say!

eye products
(From left to right Maybelline 24HR Tattoo in Timeless Black, Rimmel London Eye Magnifier Mascara in Black, Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Black/Brown, Laval Pencil Eyeliner in Black, Collection Extreme 24HR Felt Tip Liner in Black.)

Simon started by applying pencil eyeliner on my bottom lash line, I would have personally applied the pencil eyeliner on the rim of my eyelid as well but it didn’t look terrible. Simon also applied the pencil eyeliner on my upper eyelid before going over both lines with the felt tip liner. He used the Maybelline Colour Tattoo over all of my eyelid using a doe foot applicator before applying the Rimmel London mascara. Simon was very careful not to get any clumps before using the Rimmel London eyebrow pencil on my eyebrows. He did use quite heavy strokes and did miss out half of my eyebrows but his eye makeup was quite impressive.this is how it looked.

eyes edit

Finally Simon moved onto lips, and decided only to use one product which was the Rimmel London Moisture Renewal Lipstick in Plumful which I think was a wise choice.

lip products
(Rimmel London Moisture Renewal Lipstick in Plumful)

Simon applied the lipstick how you normally apply a lipstick without using a brush it went on pretty well without any smudging or bleeding but he did apply it even down the sides of my mouth which I wouldn’t have usually done, but I think it still looked okay.

lips edit

When we put it all together this is the finished look, I did see that there was good parts and bad parts.

finished

Overall, I did quite enjoy this, it definitely made me giggle a few times and watching Simon struggling over which products to pick and how to use them was quite amusing. If you liked this post please hit the like button, and feel free to comment your opinions just don’t be too harsh!

Thanks for reading
Love x
Nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Tags and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tag: My Boyfriend Does My Makeup

  1. xbeautyandbeyondx says:

    Love this!! Wonder if Mr B&B will participate…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.