Au Naturale – How To Create The Natural Look (LOTD)

Hi everyone, so after my post yesterday on spring trends a lot of people asked me to do an entire look based on natural beauty and so I decided to give it a whirl. I’m going to be posting a before and after photo to show you how the make-up looks, and of course I’ll tell you which products I used, how I used them and where you can buy them. I hope you enjoy this post.
barefaced edit
(Before photo: Me without any makeup)

So as you can see by this photo I have no makeup on, I’ve fortunate to have gaps in my eyebrows, dry skin around my nose, redness on my cheeks and an oily chin yay me! Thankfully by applying makeup I can give the impression that my skin is a lot nicer, here’s what I look like after applying makeup to create the natural (but better) look.natural makeup edit
(After photo: Me wearing makeup)

So as you can see there’s quite a big difference, by eyebrows are a little tidier, my hair is shinier, my eyelashes are thicker, my lips are shiny, and I’ve dealt with the redness and spots yet this look gives the impression that I’m not wearing much makeup and is bang on trend for spring, let me talk you through how I did it.

Hair:
hair
(Left to Right: Schwarzkopf Gliss Shine Tonic, V05 Smoothly Does It Frizz Free Creme)

My natural hair colour is brown but recently I wanted to get rid of my green ombre and so I dyed it black. I do love having black hair but one of the drawbacks is that black hair (when it’s not natural) is prone to looking dull after a couple of weeks, and the fact that I dye my hair a lot has left it looking a bit frizzy and damaged, thankfully these products help me hide that.

The first product I use is the V05 Smoothly Does It Frizz Free Creme. I put this on after my shower when my hair is still damp and I make sure that I really massage it into the ends of my hair and the ends of my layers. By the morning the cream has dried and I don’t then have to battle with split ends and damaged hair. You can buy the product here.

I also use the Schwarzkopf Gliss Hair Repair Shine Tonic, this has a really nice sweet scent and leaves your hair smelling lovely, and I spray this onto my hair in a morning. This banishes all of the dullness and makes my hair look glossy and shiny without looking greasy. It’s an affordable product and you can buy it here.

Face:
face
(From left to right: 2, true Pro Prime Perfect, Rimmel London Match Perfection Foundation in Ivory, Mineral Face Brush, (broken) Blusher Brush, Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder in Peach Glow, Avon brush, Technic Highlights, Collection Cover Up Stick in Light Translucent, MUA blusher in Marshmallow)

The first thing that I do when applying my face makeup is apply my 2true Pro Prime Perfect Primer, this is really good, it doesn’t irritate my skin, creates the perfect base for my makeup (and makes my makeup last longer) and smooths out my skin which is important as I have lumps, bumps and dry patches. You can buy it here.

Next I apply my Collection Cover Up Stick Concealer. Usually I would apply concealer after my foundation but as this is a stick I add it before as it stops my foundation from looking smeary. I use this to cover up the spots, dark circles under my eyes and some of the redness on my cheeks. You can buy it here.

After that I add my Rimmel London Match Perfection Foundation with my Avon brush. Often my friends are shocked that I use such a small brush but most foundation brushes cause your foundation to smear everywhere and I like to dab it on, yes it does take a while but it gives me smooth even coverage so it’s worth it. You can buy the foundation here.

Once my foundation is on I then use my MUA Blusher I sweep this just under my cheekbones and the apples of my cheeks and sweep it up to my brow, I use my Avon brush to blend it in so it doesn’t look to stark. The blusher is very pigmented and a little goes a long way, it’s super cost friendly and you can buy it for a pound here.

Next I add my Technic Highlights, this is a really great product depsite the low price and is an excellent dupe for Benefit’s High Beam, I apply this with the built in brush and dab it on my cupids bow, along my cheekbones, down the centre of my nose and up onto the centre of my forehead. I then blend this in with my Avon brush. You can purchase the highlighter here.

Finally to ensure that my makeup doesn’t wipe off and to add a slight glow to my face I apply the Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder with my mineral brush across my entire face, this helps my makeup set and prevents it coming off in the day, it also prevents my makeup from coming off, banishes any oil and adds a slight glow. You can buy it here.

Eyes:
eyes
(From left to right: Lancome Eyelash Curlers, Maybelline Volum’ Express Turbo Boost Mascara (black), Soap and Glory Thick and Fast Mascara (black), Collection Extreme 24hr Felt Tip Liner (black) and the Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil in Black/Brown)

You may notice that there’s no eyeshadow here, and shock horror I haven’t got the Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette that everyone seems to be raving on about. This is because I don’t usually wear nude colours on my eyes at all, the colour on my eye is simply my foundation which I applied over my eyelid and up to my brow bone to create a natural look.

The first thing I did with my eyes was to apply one coat of the Maybelline Volum’ Express Turbo Boost Mascara to ensure that my eyelashes were wet, then straight after this I used the Lancome Eyelash Curlers to ensure that my eyelashes curved upwards. You can buy the mascara here, and the curlers here.

Next I added my Soap and Glory Thick and Fast Mascara and layered it up to ensure that my lashes were really volumised. When I first bought this product I wasn’t sure how I felt about it, but I’ve been using a lot recently and am absolutely adoring it, it provides excellent volume without any clumps and the fat, cone shaped brush (it’s not a plastic brush) means that you can really get into your lash line to create sexy plumped up lashes. You can purchase it here.

I then lined my upper waterline with the Collection Extreme 24 Hour Felt Tip Liner, this was just to make my lashes look thick from the base to the tips rather than having long eyelashes that were really pale at the base. This product is a little hit and miss for me but you can purchase it here.

Finally I used the Rimmel London Professional Eyebrow Pencil to fill in the gaps in my eyebrows and to shape them a little bit to ensure that they were nicely defined and drew attention to my eyes. This product is absolutely amazing, I’ve raved on and on about it, you can purchase it here.

Lips:
baby-lips
For my lips I wanted a slight tint and shine but didn’t want a really obvious colour on them, so I used my Maybelline Baby Lips in Cherry Me to add a slight wash of colour and a glossy finish. This product is nice and hydrating product it has a soft (but not waxy) texture and smells and looks divine. It’s a lovely lip balm to have and you can buy it here.

So that’s it for my natural look, I really hope you enjoyed it and thankfully as it’s versatile you can adapt it as you please, it’s hot for spring and also comes in handy for interviews and those who don’t like to have bold makeup. If you liked this post please hit the like button, also if you’re going to be rocking a specific look, trend or product please let me know in the comments, as always I love hearing from you!

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Face, Makeup Tutorials, Wearable Makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Au Naturale – How To Create The Natural Look (LOTD)

  1. Ellie Parker says:

    I love this tutorial, you look beautiful!

  2. alicesvision says:

    Great tutorial, love this look!

  3. Honestly I think you look great without any makeup too! You have beautiful eyes!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.