Purple Rain – Purple products

Hi everyone, so today I decided to do something a little different which is a themed post and I’ve decided to do it on purple beauty products seeing as I have a fair few of them. Also for anyone over the legal age for drinking, purple rain is a cocktail and is super yummy. Anyway I’m digressing, I’ve split the products up into sections depending on what their use is, I hope you enjoy them and links of where to buy them will be included.
purple-rain
(So much purple!)

Purple Eyes:
purple-eyes
(Left Maybelline 24HR Colour Tattoo in Endless Purple, Right W7 Carnival Dust in Metallic Magenta)

I really love both of these eyeshadows, both are very different shades of purple but are both stunning in their own right.

The Maybelline Colour Tattoo is a cream based eyeshadow, if you have smooth eyelids it’s great but I probably wouldn’t recommend it to those with wrinkles of fine lines on their eyelids as it will just sink into the creases. The eyeshadow is very pigmented, easy to apply and it lasts a fair amount of time as well (although I don’t agree with the 24 hour statement), this shade of purple is a very bright violet and has a slight shimmer to it which is quite nice. I’d definitely repurchase this product and you can buy it too here.

The W7 Carnival Dust is what I would call a dupe for Barry M’s Dazzle dust. It is a loose eyeshadow which you willl need to apply with a brush, unlike the Maybelline Colour Tattoo it is a powder eyeshadow. The colour is a lot darker than the Maybelline Colour and is more of an Aubergine shade. It’s also a lot more glittery and as you can see from the photo has fine flecks of silver and iridescent glitter in it. I think it’s a great eyeshadow and excellent value for money and will be repurchasing this. You can buy it here.

Purple Nails:
purple-nails
(Left to right Superdrug’s Nail Polish Remover, Revlon Top Speed Nail Enamel in Decadent, La Femme Nail Polish in Visage, Barry M Gelly Hi Shine Nail Polish in Prickly Pear, Primark Nail Polish (part of a set) )

The first product is the Superdrug Nail Polish Remover, as you can imagine it’s a bog standard nail polish remover but I’ve included it anyway as it is purple and therefore fits in with the theme, if you want to buy it click here.

The Revlon Top Speed Nail Enamel is a rich purple colour that shines blue in the light, it lasts a long time without chipping and applies easy but I don’t think it dries as quick as it claims so don’t be sucked into the promise. You can buy here.

The La Femme nail polish is a lot paler than it looks and requires multiple coats to achieve the same colour in the bottle, it takes a while to dry and chips really easily so I’m not a huge fan of this product. You can buy it here.

Barry M’s Gelly Hi Shine Nail Paints are one of my all time favourite nail polish ranges, the shade Prickly Pear is a lovely pale lilac and has a glossy finish that I love. It lasts ages before chipping and doesn’t take super long to dry so I really like this. You can purchase it here.

The final nail polish is one which I got in a gift set from Primark, it’s quite nice as it is a purple which shines blue in the light but similar to the La Femme polish it’s much paler than it looks and it does chip pretty quickly.

Purple Scent:
grace-cole
(Grace Cole Passionfruit and Guava Body Spritz)

I absolutely love this product, it has an amazing scent which is quite strong so you don’t need to spray it on repeatedly, it’s very refreshing and fruity so is really nice for Spring, I love the packaging and the purple colour of the spritz and it clings to your clothes and lasts a while too. I will definitely be repurchasing this and you can purchase it too here.

Purple Lips:
purple-lips
(Body Shop Passionfruit Lip Balm)

illamasqua kontrol
(I did not take this photo copyright and credit goes to those on the official Illamasqua website. This shade of lipstick is Kontrol)

The Body Shop lip balm is perfect for spring, it’s quite glossy and leaves your lips looking shiny which I really like. Despite the bright colour of the product it only has a very slight tint but again is nice if you are going for a bold eye and want more of a natural lip. It smells super yummy (of passionfruit) and is very exotic, it’s not really gloopy or sticky which I really like but it is still hydrating you can buy it here.

The Illamasqua lipstick Kontrol is one of my personal favourites, my friend Rachel introduced it to me and I absolutely love it. It’s very pigmented and has a creamy formula so your lips don’t feel dry. It has great longevity and despite the picture that makes it appear black it is a nice purple shade with blue tones. You can buy it here.

I hope you enjoyed reading this post as much as I enjoyed writing it, sorry for the lateness of the post. If you did enjoy this post please hit the like button and if you’ve tried any purple products that you love or would like me to do another themed post with products of a different colour in the future please let me know in the comments, as always I’d love to hear from you all.

 

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Purple Rain – Purple products

  1. neelofarj says:

    Hi I really liked this purple theme – maybe it could be a regular feature (monthly)? I like the way you review as well πŸ˜€ x

  2. alicesvision says:

    Great post! You should totally do a green one!

  3. rachelevee says:

    With purple being my favourite colour this was a post i could really relate to!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.