Blue Steel Inspired LOTD

Metals are hugely popular in the beauty world contributing an entire shade range for new products and launches. When I was in school I actually wanted to be a geologist, I’ve always found the study or rocks and minerals to be interesting and that includes metal. I know rose gold is hugely popular but I have to be honest I’m really not a fan, I fancied doing a tutorial so I decided to take inspiration from blue steel which I love, I hope you like this look!

Eyes
MUA Pro Prime Eye Primer
As always I started with my eye makeup and of course a base for my eyeshadow. I really like this one by MUA which is a repurchase, it genuinely works plus it’s budget friendly and uses a handy doe foot applicator. I used this over my entire eyelids.
Urban Decay Vice 3 Palette
Next is eyeshadow, I used a bright blue shade (Freeze) over my entire lid and blended that into the crease and socket. I added a white shade (Bobby Dazzle) later on to my inner corners and into the centre of my lid to add dimension.
Urban Decay Alice in Wonderland palette
I only used one shade from this palette (Time) but it’s a shade that this look was based upon, I really wanted to use this because it’s the butterist, creamiest and most pigmented shadow I’ve ever used but I wasn’t sure on the best way to use it. I applied this to the outer corners of my eyes and into my crease and socket and blended into the blue to create a smokey finish.
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide on eye pencil in Accuse
For my lower waterline and lash line I wanted to use a blue liner, this one by Urban Decay isn’t very good on the waterline but it sits well on the lash line. I used this only on my lower lash line to stop this look from being too top heavy.
Soap and Glory Smoulder Kohl in Superblack
Originally I was going to do winged liner but decided against it, I used this black pencil on my tightline just to add definition to my upper lash line.
Organic Glam Mascara in Black
For mascara I used one by Organic Glam, it’s hard to get volume with this but it does do a good job at lengthening and separating, I’ll be honest though it’s not the best mascara I’ve used.
Sleek Brow Kit in Dark
Finally is brows and I used my beloved brow kit by Sleek since I’ve almost used up the pigmented wax side of this now.

Face
Estee Lauder Doublewear Foundation
I actually didn’t use a primer for my face so the first product I used was the Estee Lauder Doublewear Foundation, this is expensive but it’s the best foundation I’ve tried as it makes my skin look picture perfect, matches my skintone perfectly and is the only foundation to stay on my face all day long which is what I need!
Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer
I used concealer for my eyes only, I got the usual under the eyes and inner corners but I also used this above my crease and around the edges of my eyeshadow to tighten the crease and clean up any smudges or fallout.
Astor Deluxe Bronzer in 002 Safari Fever
I only use bronzer on the hollows of my cheeks mainly because it makes me look muddy or strange if I use it everywhere. I do really like this bronzer by Astor, I’ve hit pan on it now but it’s been a firm favourite right back from when I first started blogging, definitely one for pale girls.
Benefit Hervana Blusher
I wanted to brighten up the face and not look washed out especially as I was wearing blue so I added a bit of colour to my cheeks with the Benefit Hervana blusher. This has to be one of my favourite Benefit blushers, the colour is just stunning.
MUA Undress Your Skin Highlighter
Sticking with the icy theme I used an icy pink powder highlight by MUA. This still stuns me everytime I use it the colour is just phenomenal and so pretty. There’s now quite a few shades of these in the MUA range from a pale champagne gold, to warm peaches to blues and greys now!

Lips
Maybelline Colour Sensational Lip Gloss in Stellar Berry
Finally for lips I was going to use a pale nude but decided to try and balance the look. I actually chose a gloss as I wanted something softer than a matte lipstick. This lipgloss from Maybelline is actually more berry toned in person it’s definitely not as bright as it looks in the photo! This has a lovely smooth formula that doesn’t feel sticky and sits nicely on the lips plus it smells like the strawberry chocolate Quality Street!

So there we have it, if you enjoyed this post please hit the like button and let me know in the comments what you think of this look and if you’d give it a try, I personally think the blue makes a nice alternative to the typically silver and black smokey eye.

Thanks for reading!

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Makeup Tutorials, Wearable Makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blue Steel Inspired LOTD

  1. stashy says:

    You’re right, the Estee Lauder Doublewear Foundation does look perfect on your skin!
    The Benefit Hervana blush is so pretty – it’s so versatile too.

Leave a Reply

