Flower Girl LOTD

Despite having Hayfever, I love looking at and drawing flowers so I really fancied creating a makeup look around that. This is definitely not one for daywear more of a fancy dress and playaround but since it’s sunny and I’m feeling the bright colours I felt very inspired, I hope that you like it!

Eyes
MUA Pro Prime Base
I always start my eye makeup otherwise I move around my face makeup and the first product I always use is an eye primer. The doe-foot applicator on the MUA Pro Prime Base makes it easy to use and I’ve found that the primer increases the intensity and longevity of eyeshadows.
BH Cosmetics 88 Shimmer Eyeshadow Palette
I never thought I’d see the day where I chose to wear yellow eyeshadow but here we are! I used a combination of two yellow eyeshadows from this palette. The shimmer is subtle but I find that shimmery eyeshadows tend to be creamier than mattes and despite the colour these held up pretty well in terms of pigmentation.
Essence 3d Eyeshadow in Irresistible Summer Sea
To create the flower petals I used a mixture of two eyeshadows from Essence. This one is the pale blue one, usually this is very pigmented however, I was applying it to my face so I did need to pack this on. These shadows are actually eyeshadow duos and have a pigmented formula.
Essence 3D Eyeshadow in Irresistible Purple
I was going to go for the paler option in this duo however, I didn’t want the blue and purple to blend together and create a mess so I used the darker shade. I do find that the lighter (and flat) shades tend to yield a slightly better formula than the 3d parts of these shadows but that is me. This one does have a small amount of glitter in but thankfully didn’t end up everywhere.
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide on Eye Pencil in Zero
Winged eyeliner could have potentially ruined this look so I decided to keep it just to the tightline and waterlines of my eyes. I really do like this particular black liner as it stays on for a long time before fading plus the formula is very intense and very creamy.
Soap and Glory Supercat Liner
When creating looks like this I’m always tempted to use a liquid liner until I remember how liquid liner can crack and fade so I decided to use this felt tip liner to do the detailing on the flowers. Unfortunately like every felt tip liner I have used this is drying out especially on the tip, but for the price it’s not too terrible.
Clinique High Impact Mascara
I am on the fence with this mascara, it does offer plenty of volume and I have noticed it offers a decent curl as well but it falls down on the separation side so you do have to be careful with clumps.
Sleek Brow Kit in Dark
I’ve almost used this up now and it’s been a great product to use. I find this really does match my brows and the wax and the powder means that I can fill in and shape my brows without them looking shiny or too warm toned.

Face
Clinique Superprimer Primer
This is a sample, I do always like to use a primer just to give my foundation something to grip to but I find that this primer reminds me of the Rimmel London Stay Matte in the fact that it doesn’t seem to do too much.
L’oreal True Match Foundation
One of my favourite drugstore foundations the only downside to this is the longevity. I applied this with a sponge and then I used the Real Techniques Detailer Brush when I got near the petals to prevent smearing around this makeup, I love this for daywear.
Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in 1N
I used this under my eyes but after I’d done the petals if I was to repeat this look I’d probably use this before the eyeshadow but the detailing brush helped me clean up any edges. Some people do find this concealer to be cakey but I find it makes a huge difference to my dark circles  and it doesn’t crease.
No7 Instant Radiance Highlighter
I’ve only started using this week and I’ll have a full review up on Friday. I do really like the colour of this and the formula is very creamy. I actually applied this under my foundation to reduce any shimmer and to prevent it from lifting away my foundation. I applied this in all the usual places – cheekbones, down the centre of my nose, cupids bow and browbone.

Lips
Maybelline Colour Sensational Matte Lipstick in Magnetic Magenta
I was going to go for a nude lip however, I felt that a bold lip would prevent this look from being too top heavy and it definitely brightens the look and ties it all together. This lipstick is very comfortable to wear as it is more of a comfort matte formula. The shade is very bold but great for summer!

That concludes this post, if you enjoyed it please hit the like button and let me know in the comments what you think of this look. I really like the flowery liner I’ve seen people do but I know that I’m not that precise!

Thanks for reading!

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Crazy/Wacky Makeup, Makeup Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flower Girl LOTD

  1. stashy says:

    What a fun look! Did you wear this outside? 🙂

Leave a Reply

