Maybelline Color Sensational Matte Lipstick in Magnetic Magenta Review

These days I’m all about a muted pink lip for work days, but I’m still obsessing over matte lips so I couldn’t resist trying one of the Maybelline Colour Sensational Matte Lipsticks after swatching in Boots. I’ve not actually tried a Maybelline lipstick before despite Maybelline being a readily accessible brand in the UK, so here’s my thoughts.

All of the Maybelline lipsticks come in these rectangular bullets with a plastic lid. I quite like the matte packaging of the lid even if it does attract fingerprints simply because it is reflective of the finish of the lipstick. Maybelline are a high street brand so these lipsticks are fairly budget friendly at £6.99.

Maybelline describes these lipsticks as the following:
Now, lips slip into our creamiest matte. Sensuous matte cream formula meets bold pigment colour for our smoothest, most seductive mattes. In 6 make-a-statement shades. Worried that matte lipstick with make your lips look and feel dry? New Color Sensational Creamy Mattes give you matte lips that look smooth, moisturised and more plump, and feel comfortable all day.

There’s a choice of seven shades of the Coloursensational Matte Lipsticks, the shade Magnetic Magenta is exactly what the name would suggest – a bright neon magenta shade. This is quite a bold shade so I can understand the magnetic aspect (aside from the alliteration) it definitely captures the eye.

One thing that always puts me off with matte lipsticks is how drying they can be especially the liquid lipstick variety that makes me feel like all of the moisture from my lips has been sucked out. That isn’t an issue with these lipsticks due to the creamy formula. These glide on instantly pigmented with one swipe, although I’ve not yet tried the range they feel the same as I imagine the Urban Decay Comfort Matte formula to be.

We are left with a primarily matte finish with a slight satin touch to it that maintains the dimension of the lips and prevents the lipstick from looking too flat. I actually really like the formula, it’s easy to work with, comfortable to wear and it delivers on it’s intended finish.

The only flaw with this lipstick (and this is me nitpicking) is that I think it would benefit from an increased longevity. I can get a couple of hours of wear out of this but it won’t stay put for eight plus hours, especially when eating or drinking. I do think though that a top up isn’t a major bug bear when this lipstick delivers on everything else.

Overall, I really do like this lipstick, the shade isn’t one I’d wear daily due to the vividness and boldness of it but it is a nice one for summer. I am also tempted by the shade Rose Rush which looks like a muted pink, providing it’s not a pale blue toned pink which may look a bit dated. I would repurchase a lipstick from this range and if you do like the matte lip trend I’d highly recommend you give these a try!

The Maybelline Colour Sensational Matte Lipstick in Magnetic Magenta is available in Boots for £6.99.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried this lipstick and if you would try a lipstick from this range.

Thanks for reading!

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Lips and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

