Clinique Superprimer Face Primer

Clinique is a brand that I’m hit and miss with, some of their products I really do like but many I just don’t get on with and I find that for the price there are alternative products that deliver exactly what I need. Having said that, Clinique had an offer on a while ago where if you picked up two products you got a bag of deluxe samples to try. One of these samples was the Clinique Superprimer which I’ve been trialing over the past tow weeks, here’s my thoughts.

As mentioned I have a deluxe sample of this but the packaging is near enough the same as the full size except the full size has a metal lid. To be honest the package doesn’t really excite me it’s quite minimalistic and plain but we all know it’s what’s inside that counts. For the full sized 30ml product this is £22.00 which I consider high end.

The product description is as follows:
NEW Superprimer Face Primer, your foundations new best friend! Oil free light weight formula gives skin a natural perfected appearance smoothing skins texture and improving foundation quality of wear. Available for six concerns including a universal shade and colour correcting shades.

I believe that this is the universal shade as this is a white cream that blends straight into the skin without leaving behind any colour or residue. In terms of texture this is a cream with a slight silicone feeling, it reminds me of the Rimmel London Stay Matte Primer which I wasn’t a fan of only this is less sticky and wet feeling on the skin.

In terms of properties this doesn’t do anything for my pores, I actually find that when I apply this it is fairly lightweight and it provides a base for my foundation but I’m not sure it really blows me away, there’s no exceptional smoothing or pore filling properties that makes me feel that this is a standout product, having said that it is preferable over skipping primer as it acts as something for my foundation to hold on to.

In terms of longevity I haven’t noticed this improve how long my foundation stays on but I have noticed a very slight improvement on how my foundation sits on my skin but it’s barely decipherable and not significant enough to warrant the price.

I would like to point out that this isn’t a bad product it just is one of those that doesn’t seem to do much, will I use it up? Yes. Would I repurchase? No. This doesn’t feel like a product that I absolutely need but I do have combination skin which is on the drier side at the moment (save for my chin). I think that those with oily skin would probably get on with this as it has the same hold as a silicone primer but without stripping the natural oils and hydration from the skin.

Overall, this isn’t bad but I’m a tad disappointed, I expected a lot more from this but I actually prefer the Benefit Porefessional or the GOSH Velvet Touch Primer. Personally, I wouldn’t repurchase this and I probably wouldn’t recommend it either.

The Clinique Superprimer Face Primer is available here for £22.00.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried this and which primers you recommend!

Thanks for reading.

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Face and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Clinique Superprimer Face Primer

  1. stashy says:

    Too bad it’s a “nothing” type product. When I take the effort to apply something to my face, I expect something.

Leave a Reply

