Laura Mercier Foundation Primer Review

Laura Mercier is one of the brands that I always mean to buy from but then I look at the prices and somehow never manage to bite the bullet. I actually got this primer from my Nanna Margaret, she found that it didn’t work for her so I decided to give it a go, here’s my thoughts.

The Laura Mercier packaging is quite simplistic, this is simply a taupe coloured plastic tube with the logo and product name written on it in brown. This is definitely high end priced at £30 for 50ml of product.

The product description for this is as follows:
Consider the Laura Mercier Foundation Primer at Space NK as your first line of defence. Designed for use under foundation or tinted moisturiser, the invisible layer creates an even surface for your makeup to go on smoothly. A buffer against external aggressors, the gel contains vitamins A, C and E that act as antioxidants to protect the skin from harmful, aging effects of the environment. This primer is ideal for normal and combination skin types and will never clog your pores. For your smoothest makeup application ever, apply a layer of this vitamin-rich creamy gel before foundation or tinted moisturiser. Just as a painter primes a canvas, this lightweight gel provides a base that will keep your makeup looking fresh and colour-true for the entire day.

In terms of texture I’d say that the product description is pretty apt, this is a gel/cream hybrid, it feels fairly cooling but it doesn’t feel overly creamy and I can’t tell that it’s got vitamins in it. This doesn’t ball up under foundation so I just put dots of this onto my face and then blend it out with my fingers.

In terms of the product description, this doesn’t deliver on what it promises. I don’t find that this events out my skin texture or tone at all, my pores literally look no different so if you are looking for more of a resurfacing primer then I definitely wouldn’t recommend this and I can see why it doesn’t work on my nan’s mature skin.
 
(Blended into hand: Left before, Right after)

What this primer is does is give a very dewy yet natural looking glow to the skin without having any shimmer in it. As it is a primer I wear this under my foundation and if I’m wearing something that is medium coverage I just find that it looks a little more radiant.

Is this something that I would repurchase? I don’t think so but it is nice to use and I have been enjoying using it lately, I just wish that it delivered on the other product claims. I would recommend this is you are looking for a natural yet dewy looking primer although it is quite pricey!

The Laura Mercier Foundation Primer is available here for £30.00.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button. Have you tried anything by Laura Mercier? I really wanted to try their Silk Creme Foundation but I’ve heard that the reformulated version isn’t as good.

Thanks for reading!

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Face and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Laura Mercier Foundation Primer Review

  1. stashy says:

    I had the mineral version of the LM primer and I loved it. The consistency was less of a gel and more like a lotion. It made my foundation last longer and was smoothing on the skin. 🙂

Leave a Reply

