Nina Ross Beauty – An Update and Announcement

Today is a little different to my usual sorts of posts because I’m not talking about beauty I’m going to be talking about my blog as I have an announcement and some changes I’m making so I feel the need to write a post on this. Please feel free to comment, your thoughts will help me shape this and to continue to produce content that you guys want to read.

Starting a blog
I first started this blog way back in 2013 I was a first year student doing a Journalism degree I didn’t know much about what I was going to do after Uni but I knew that I wanted to do something creative and something that involved writing. For one of my modules our tutors recommended we start a blog, most of us didn’t stick to it and after starting a blog on politics and realising that I didn’t enjoy it I switched to writing something that I loved which was beauty.

As I wrote more I slowly became immersed in the world of blogging, I watched the Youtube videos, put together posts, slowly began to improve my photography, learned how to use Photoshop, read other blogs and learned about beauty. At the time I was very unconfident I spent a lot of time on my own despite living with my boyfriend, blogging became a way to fill the time, blogging provided some sort of consistency in my life even when everything else ended up in turmoil (I’ll get to that in a moment) I spent a lot of money and time working on this I started dedicating every Saturday to writing blog posts and I posted seven times a week, seven times a week for three years except for when I lost internet, blogging became a central part of my life and I met you guys my lovely readers!

Running into issues

My issues started in my final year of University, I’ve struggled with severe Depression and Anxiety for a very long time but finally I got on top of that. I then started suffering bone pain and a whole host of other symptoms, several blood tests and a surgery later and I was diagnosed with a genetic condition that affects my hormones, my glands, my organs. In my final year I suffered a benign tumour on my parathyroid gland which required surgery. Suddenly I felt ill a lot and I was in and out of hospital whilst trying to finish my degree. After I passed my degree I got a job which didn’t work out and then I ended up job hunting for six months until I finally got another chance, I started work but felt ill again at the moment I’m having more tests done and trying to get to the bottom of it. I’m not going to go too much into my medical history but the conditions I have affect me on a daily basis. On top of this I work full time, I help my boyfriend with his uni work, I keep on top of my flat, I exercise and I try to spend time with friends and family since I live away from them. Over the past month it’s been manic and I’ve found it harder and harder to get those seven posts up a week. At one point my loved ones wanted me to stop blogging so I had more time but I stubbornly refused which led to me churning out content as quick as I could, I haven’t been able to keep on top of other people’s blogs, my social channels don’t always get regular updates and I’m constantly feeling like a bad blogger.

Moving forward
Blogging has become a huge part of my life but right now with everything that’s going on it has become almost like a chore. The magic is leaving and I want to get that back, I want to create content that I love and share it with you guys not churn out shitty posts because I want to post daily. Which brings me to the moving forward section. I’m still going to blog but I’m going to take a step back and I’m no longer going to be posting daily. After this week I will be posting three times a week (Monday, Wednesday and Friday) which will give me more time to get stuff done, take care of my health and make sure I can give back to you lovely lot and read your blog and leave behind comments. I hope that you guys don’t mind but I really need to take some time out and this is the best way that I can think of doing it without disappearing off of the face of the earth!

Please let me know what you guys think about the new schedule in the comments, are Monday, Wednesday and Friday good days to post?

Thanks for reading and for being fantastic readers, I really do appreciate it!

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Nina Ross Beauty – An Update and Announcement

  1. I think you should definitely M whatever works best for you –
    Maybe some weeks MWF, and other weeks T and Th. ❤️

  2. stashy says:

    Posting daily is a LOT of work. And yes, it becomes like a chore. I’ve never committed to a blogging schedule except that I try to post once a week minimum. Keep it casual or else it will become a burden. 😉

    • Yeah its finally got to that point now that I’m juggling a lot of stuff in my personal life but I want to keep it going just on a more relaxed schedule, thanks for commenting 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

