Sleek Barekissed Illuminator in Monaco Review

I’m a huge fan of highlighters so when Sleek Barekissed Illuminators first came out I of course had my eye on them! For anyone who hasn’t seen this before there are four shades of these liquid highlighters that are seriously beautiful and affordable.

The Sleek Barekissed Illuminators are priced at £8.99 and are available on four shades: a silvery champage (Monoco), a cool toned pink (Casablanca), a coral peach (Cuba) and a warm bronze (Pompeii), I have the shade Monoco and you get 30ml of product for your money.

Sleek describes these illuminators as the following:
Achieve an envious glow with our collection of versatile liquid illuminators in four sunkissed shades. • Refresh and enhance your complexion with gorgeous light-reflecting pigments, perfect for all skin types and tones. • Can be mixed with foundation or applied directly to cheekbones, brow bones and the body.”

The highlighter is dispensed via a pump which I personally like. The pump is quite strong so I don’t press down fully, I squeeze a small amount of this onto the back of my hand which is enough to do my entire cheekbones, brow bones, cupids bow and nose – a little goes a long way this this.

One thing that I do disagree with is the idea that these are sunkissed, the shades of these are predominantly cool-toned (with the exception of Pompeii) so these gives a frostier appearance rather than anything sunkissed.

The texture is on the thicker side with this which I find is better than a runny texture as you can apply this over foundation without it moving your makeup. One thing I would note is that this is shimmery, although this isn’t full on glittery it does have light reflecting particles, as a result to prevent it looking glittery I like to wear this under a medium or full coverage foundation so that the glow shines through subtly without being anything like a mirrorball.

These blended swatches were taken in daylight but you can see that these are quite glowy with a hint of shimmer. As mentioned above if you prefer a matte or dewy highlighter that doesn’t have any sort of shimmer then I would avoid this. The shimmer isn’t instantly detectable when you swatch this however I find it is more visible when blended and when this starts to wear away hence why I wear this under foundation.

This lasts a good few hours on me and does do what I need it to, I do find that this adds a glow to my skin and does a good job at emphasising the high points of my face. I’m not sure if I would repurchase this, whilst it is pretty there’s nothing groundbreaking about it, I’d also be cautious to recommend this, only purchase this id you don’t mind a hint of shimmer and be sure to swatch it in store. I’ve seen people complaining on the Boots website about the shimmer so swatch it, blend it, check after fading and make your mind up then don’t impulse buy!

The Sleek Barekissed Illuminator in Monaco is available here for £8.99.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button and if you’re not already follow my blog! Let me know in the comments if you have tried these and which shade you would go for.

Thanks for reading!

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Face and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

