Spring/Summer 2017 Hair Trends

I have to admit since cutting my hair the majority of these hair trends I won’t be able to try, however, I do love nosying at what styles will be in fashion for the next season. There’s a variety of hairstyles this time round from 80s nostalgia to minimalist, here’s a selection of the hair trends – there really is something for everyone!

Disclaimer – I do not own these images all of these images were sourced from articles in Cosmopolitan and Harpers Bazaar which will be linked and referenced for each look.

1) Afro Hair as seen by Vanessa Seward (Cosmopolitan)
If you have tightly curled hair then rejoice because this season it’s hot! What I love about afro hair is how it’ incredibly textured and has that undone look. Not only that but afros are great for framing the face and emphasising the facial features. Whether you prefer it brushed out and elevated or more defined this summer it’s incredibly popular.

2) Micro Braids as seen by Missoni (Cosmopolitan)
To me, small plaits and braids are the epitome of spring so I’m not surprised to see them on the catwalk once again. For a truly bohemian look feel free to layer them or even add hair accessories to jazz them up. I find personally find braids incredibly versatile and they can be worked into the hair regardless of length.

3) Mushroom Hair as seen by Jeremy Scott (Cosmopolitan)
Talk about an 80’s throwback, mushroom hair is back! Personally this isn’t a style that I would personally try but that’s because I have a round/oval face however, if you do have a longer or squarer face then this look may be for you. I love the sleekness and the rounded shape of this cut.

4) High Ponytails as seen by Nicholas K (Cosmopolitan)
When I had long hair I used to live in a high ponytail so I’m glad to see this back in fashion. For a fresh look, wrap the hair around the band to recreate this look. A few designers made use of this ponytail and they’re great for hot weather – cue no hair stuck to the neck.

5) Chopstick Curls as seen by Topshop Unique (Cosmopolitan)
I think a lot of people who picked up the Lee Stafford Chopstick Curler will be happy to see this trend in fashion. Topshop Unique used a chopstick curler to create slim spirals. Keep it relaxed by wearing them loose or for extra bounce try a nostalgic pineapple pony.

6) Cornrow Ballerina Buns as seen by Christian Dior (Harpers Bazaar)
I love ballerina buns anyway but the cornrows used underneath take this hairstyle to a whole new level. Personally I adore the fusion of elegance and edginess to create something that not only stands out but is surprisingly wearable, I think this has to be my favourite style from the lot and it’ll be perfect for hot weather!

7) Sleek Wet Look as seen by Balmain (Harpers Bazaar)
The wet look is timeless so it’s no surprise to see it on the catwalk time and time again. Personally I think my hair is too thin to be able to pull this off but if you can wear it like this kudos to you!

8) Poker Straight as seen by Versace (Cosmopolitan)
One that I’m relieved to see is the poker straight hair as seen on Gigi Hadid for Versace. I’ve been wearing my hair straight as of late so it’s always nice to know that it’s fashionable. I think that this hairstyle will be popular in spring but in summer it could end up being a little heavy if it does start to heat up.

So there we have it, my roundup of the latest hair trends, if you enjoyed this post please hit the like button and let me know in the comments which of these styles is your favourite and which you’ll be trying out!

Thanks for reading.

 

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Hair and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

