Makeup Revolution I Heart Makeup Lip Geek in Barbie is Jealous Review

Although a lot of people rave about Makeup Revolution lipsticks I didn’t have the greatest experience. I tried the Atomic Lipstick in Serpent and it was greasy and patchy and quite possibly one of the worst lipsticks I have tried, so I have to say I wasn’t expecting much from the Lip Geek in Barbie is Jealous, here’s my thoughts.
lip-geek
I’m going to start with the packaging which if I’m honest I find a little strange. Some might think that the purple and pink is cute and I would be inclined to agree except it looks more like a bullet or something dodgy – not something that I would choose anyway! The price of these is incredibly budget friendly at only £1.00 for a lipstick.
product
The shade Barbie is Jealous is a medium to dark blue toned pink. When I heard the name I immediately was unsure about this lipstick, to me when I think of Barbie Pink I think of something like MAC Saint Germain which I know would be a horrible colour on my pale, yellow toned skin. Whilst this is blue toned, it’s a deep shade more of a fuchsia and not too dissimilar to the infamous Candy Yum Yum by MAC.
swatch
The formula of this is quite surprising, it isn’t super creamy but it glides on well and dispenses pigment evenly. This may need a couple of layers to build it up to maximum intensity it isn’t a one coat – full pigment lipstick but at the same time it’s not slippery, greasy, overly drying or patchy which is great.

There is very little information on this product on the Tam Beauty website with neither the shade nor finish described. Personally this has a satin finish that has almost a slightly glossy sheen to it, however, in texture this feels more like a satin. You can move your lips comfortably without this smearing around on the lips which is definitely a plus.
on-me one-me-2
The only downside to this lipstick is the longevity, this will stick around for an hour or two but won’t last beyond that. Of course to increase the longevity you can reapply, apply this over a lip liner or use something like a lip sealant to increase the longevity, but if you’re lazy or forgetful or just don’t have time then this may not be for you.

Overall, this isn’t a bad lipstick at all, it hasn’t completely blown me away, for only 99p more is the Essence Longlasting Lipsticks which are truly amazing however, this is not bad and it performs better than it’s £1.00 price tag suggests. I’d be eager to try more shades from this range to see if the formula is standardised or if it is inconsistent with each shade. I’m not sure I’d repurchase this particular shade but I’d buy another lipstick from this range and if you love this shade and need a budget lipstick I would recommend this.

The Makeup Revolution I Heart Makeup Lip Geek in Barbie is Jealous is available here for £1.00.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button and let me know in the comments if you have tried any lip products from this brand. I have also tried the Lip Lavas which I wasn’t keen on, I would consider the lip kits but I’d like more shades to be released first if I’m honest.

Thanks for reading!
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Beauty on a Budget, Lips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Makeup Revolution I Heart Makeup Lip Geek in Barbie is Jealous Review

  1. stashy says:

    This is so girly – how fabulous! Yes when I think of Barbie Pink I also think about the very cool toned milky pink which isn’t too wearable. I like their take of the Barbie Pink – I think it would suit more skin tones. That tube is useful, at least you can easily find it in your purse! XD

Leave a Reply

