Urban Decay Wende’s Contraband and Zero Eyeliner Review

I’m a huge fan of Urban Decay and I actually own six eyeshadow palettes by the brand which just goes to show how much I love them! When I first laid eyes upon the Wende’s Contraband palette I remember lusting after it so badly and I was lucky enough to receive it as a gift! Today I’m reviewing the palette and the free min 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil in Zero that comes along with it.
paette
First of all can we just stare at the packaging for a few moments, I’m absolutely in love! I adore this packaging so much it reminds me of an oil spill or a watercolour painting it’s stunning. This retails for £24.00 which I think is reasonable for six high quality eyeshadows and an eyeliner, if you work it out that’s only £6.00 per eyeshadow with the eyeliner free!
inside-palette inside
Inside the palette we have the mirror inside of the lid and then we are presented with six eyeshadows and the eyeliner. The shadows include jewel tones, brights and neutrals and all have a shimmer finish. The eyeshadows included within this palette are:
Trick: A peachy toned orange shimmer.
Smog: A coppery bronze brown  with gold undertones and a shimmer.
Reign:
A deep warm toned brown with shimmer.
Deep End: A rich teal turquoise with shimmer.
Flash: A vivid mid-toned violet with shimmer.
Tornado: A dusty purple with shimmer.

The formula to me is very silky and blendable, a lot of people have complained that Tornado isn’t pigmented, personally I found it to be pigmented but it isn’t quite as rich and buttery as the rest of the shades. Trick also appears to be slightly different than it is in my Naked 3 palette but the changes are very minor. These shadows seem a little firmer than most Urban Decay shadows however, I find that they have less fallout that usual. The only flaw with this palette is the repeated shades, I already have Trick, Smog, Reign and Tornado in other Urban Decay palettes so I only get Flash and Deep End from this that I don’t already own. This is travel friendly though and I personally find it worth it for those two shades.
swatches
Top row swatches L-R: Trick, Smog and Reign
Bottom row swatches L-R: Deep End, Flash and Tornado.

Overall these shadows are incredibly impressive. I wear Deep End alone and it’s just stunning, I like to use the neutrals in conjunction with one another and the purples compliment each other as well, if you are a fan of neutral and bright shadows then I’d definitely give this a try I love it!
zero
Onto the liner now and I’m pleased to see a black eyeliner included within this palette as black goes with all of these shades. I have tried the same eyeliner in the shade Perversion so I was looking forward to trying Zero. This is a mini version but retains the metallic lid, sadly this is a wooden eyeliner (with a plastic coating) so it does require sharpening.
zero-liner-swatch
I was actually disappointed with the payoff of this liner, on the tightline and waterline it’s very difficult to get this to show up at all which is not what I expect as all the other Glide On Eye Pencils I’ve tried are fantastic. This also applies quite patchy so you do need to go over it and even then you get a watery grey toned black.

On the lash line this isn’t bad but you can only get crisp lines with this, I tried smudging this on my lower lash line and rather than blending and smudging nicely it flaked and went patchy. I’m extremely disappointed as Perversion is a fantastic matte black line that stays in place for hours. Zero didn’t work well at all and really disappointed me.

Overall, the eyeshadows are fab and I still think that this palette is worth purchasing just for the shadows alone because they are beautiful. The Zero Liner is a disappointment, I’ve tried better liners for cheaper and this just doesn’t do the job at all. I would recommend the palette but I wouldn’t recommend buying the eyeliner as a standalone (if you weren’t buying this palette) and I wouldn’t repurchase the liner.

The Urban Decay Wende’s Contraband Palette is available here for £24.00.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried this palette or these shades before and if you would purchase this.

Thanks for reading!
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Eyes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Urban Decay Wende’s Contraband and Zero Eyeliner Review

  1. stashy says:

    The palette has such a nice mix of neutrals and pops of colour! I do wonder why they chose 2 purples instead of another colour, like a blue or even a pink! 😛
    I’m not a big fan of UD Glide On Eye Pencils – I do not find they last that well on me – they tend to fade.

Leave a Reply

