Benefit Hoola Bronzer Review

Benefit Hoola and Nars Laguna have to be the two most raved about bronzers by beauty bloggers. Bronzer is something that I use most days but quite lightly, as I’m very pale with yellow undertones it can be quite hard for me to find a bronzer that isn’t too dark, ashy or muddy plus I always prefer a matte bronzer too. Apparently Benefit are releasing a paler version of Hoola so I’m quite excited for that, here’s my review of the original!
hoola
Usually Hoola comes in a a rather pretty looking purple box and includes a soft kabuki brush however, I actually have the Real Cheeky Party Face Palette which includes Hoola so my version comes in a large square pan. I would describe Hoola as a high end bronzer as this is priced at £24.50 per box.

The first thing to note about Hoola is that in the pan it is not true to colour. From the photo above and in real life) Hoola appears to be very pale and cool toned almost grey in undertone but in reality it translates as very warm toned and quite pigmented.
finger-swatch
I can’t comment on the full size but with the pan that I have of Hoola, there is also a lot of fallout that kicks up whenever I dip my brush into it so that is something to bear in mind. Having said that though, this is a very soft powder, it feels weightless on the skin and blends nicely.
fallout
As mentioned above this is very pigmented, I have to use a very light-hand when applying this otherwise I end up with way too much product on my brush. That does mean that this will last me longer however, for paler girls I imagine that this could be too deep or obvious, I have to apply a small amount, blend well and then sometimes I’d go over it with my foundation brush or blending sponge just to prevent it from being too OTT.
swatch
Overall, I do like this, I think that it’s great that a paler shade may be cocming out as I do think that this may be difficult to work with for pale skin tones however, I quite like this. I never thought I’d actually get on with Hoola but I’m pleasantly surprised and I can see myself getting plenty of use out of this. I would recommend this to those with medium skintones who are looking for a matte bronzer, time will tell if I repurchase, I am quite keen to try Nars Laguna now!

The Benefit Hoola Bronzer is available here for £24.50.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please it the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried Hoola and what your go-to bronzers are! 

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Face and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Benefit Hoola Bronzer Review

  1. stashy says:

    This has been on my list of bronzers to try. Based on your swatch, it doesn’t look too orange – it might perhaps be even good for contouring.
    Nars Laguna is lighter and has a bit of shimmer – I think it’s good for fair skin. 🙂

    • I use this for contouring and that was quite a heavy swatch it definitely isn’t orange, I’m very pale it’s literally this and one by Astor I use because everything else is too dark so this was a pleasant surprise. I’m not keen on the sound of shimmer in Laguna so I’d have to look into it are we talking more glowy or more glittery?

Leave a Reply

