LA Splash Lip Couture Waterproof Matte Liquid Lipstick in Criminal Review

Liquid lipsticks still continue to be a highly sought after beauty product since they exploded into the beauty bloggersphere. I’ve tried a few liquid lipsticks but keen to try more I picked up a couple from LA Splash to try. I wasn’t overly fond of the Lip Smitten formula (catch my review here) but I decided to give the Couture formula a try to see if they fared any better, here’s my thoughts.
lip-couture
The LA Splash Lip Coutures come in these clear tubes with a gold lid. The box itself is quite funky but in a way confusing as it gives off a different image to the tubing. These are what I would describe as mid-range priced at £9.95 from Beauty Bay.
wet-swatch dry-swatch
(L-R: Criminal swatch (before drydown), Criminal swatch dried.)
One thing that I would like to point out before continuing on with this review is that if you do end up purchasing any liquid lipsticks from this range I’d highly recommend that you do a Google search and research swatches. I’m quite happy with the shade of Criminal which is a mid blue toned purple however, I did notice that on websites such as Beauty Bay and Love Makeup the shade appears to be a very red-toned purple so those swatches are not true to colour.
wand
Moving onto the wand and the formula, the applicator is an angled application that is slightly tapered for ease of application. The applicator does have an excess of product when you first take it out of the tube so I would recommend wiping off the remainder of the product. One thing I also noticed is that comparing this to the Smitten Lip Tint Mousse formula, the Couture formula is thinner and runnier, this isn’t necessarily a bad thing but you may need to layer up this to prevent any patchiness.
on-me
This product does offer a matte finish however, similar to the other range by LA Splash this dried down into something that felt almost powdery on the lips. I have noticed that the LA Splash liquid lipsticks do tend to feel incredibly drying and you can’t rub your lips together without increasing the fade speed so do bear that in mind. I personally prefer something with a little more hydration and comfort, so if you are like me, then these may not be for you.
faded
Although this did last a few hours on me I noticed that it didn’t last as long as the Smitten Lip Tint Mousse. I also noticed that rather than just fading in the centre of my lips, this faded patchily. One other thing to bear in mind that these can be quite tricky to remove, I had to really scrub at my lips with my cleanser and flannel to get this off fully.

Overall, I’m just not a fan of this, I love the shade but the formula leaves much to be desired and as someone who has dry skin (and often dry lips) this isn’t great for me. If you do love the incredibly matte liquid lipsticks then you may get on better with these, but I wouldn’t repurchase this for myself.

The La Splash Lip Couture Waterproof Matte Liquid Lipsticks are available here for £9.95.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried any of the LA Splash liquid lipsticks, also if you have any liquid lipstick formulas that I should try please let me know as I definitely want to try more!

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Lips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

