Illamasqua Powder Eyeshadow in Slink Review

Illamasqua has been one of my favourite brands since I discovered it a few years ago and I have to say their eyeshadows are something that I’ve wanted to try for a while. Personally, I really enjoyed the cream eyeshadow that I tried namely the Vintage Metallix in Courtier so I was so excited to received the Powder Eyeshadow in Slink as a Christmas gift from my boyfriend one Christmas, here’s my thoughts.
slink
In line with the quirkiness of the Illamasqua brand it’s not surprise that the eyeshadows are housed in these funky shaped plastic compacts. I love the shape of these pans, definitely unique and reminiscent of the brand. These eyeshadows are priced at £16.50 which is very expensive for a single shadow so I would definitely consider these to be high end.
inside
(Ignore my messiness!)
Slink is a beautiful champagne toned eyeshadow, described by Illamasqua as a “Soft Champagne with a Shimmer Finish” I can confirm that this eyeshadow is exactly that. Rather than being heavily yellow toned this leans more towards the almost silvered highlighting gleam that we’ve become accustomed to seeing from champagne toned products.
swatch
Swatching this with my fingers delivers an intense pigment but on the eyes this translates a little softer. I personally like to pat this onto the lid and then blend with a fluffy brush to get softer finish. The texture of this is lovely, it’s soft and buttery but it isn’t to the point where it feels like a cream, this very much is a powder eyeshadow.

The only thing I would say about this is that due to the shimmer I would highly recommend an eye primer, whilst this doesn’t have a ridiculous amount of fallout, the shimmer can emphasise an texture on the skin. My eyelids are neither oily nor dry but I do have to blend this out to prevent my lids from looking scaly.
swatch-unblended
(Unblended swatch)
This is a swatch of the eyeshadow over the top of primer. I literally used my fingers to swatch this so you can see a beautifully pigmented colour on my hand. This shade does have quite a lovely sheen to it so I tend to wear this alone rather than with other shadows so I can let it speak for itself. Once blended out this looks less shimmery and more sheeny which I prefer. To ensure that this is pigmented I simply pack this on then blend out.
swatch-blended
(Blended swatch)

Overall, this is a lovely eyeshadow, I do think that it is expensive so these are not eyeshadows that I would buy on a regular basis but if there’s a particular shade that you have your eye on it’s definitely a #treatyoself kind of product. I’m not sure if I’d repurchase as I have a lot of similar shades to this but I’d consider picking up different shades to try.

The Illamasqua Powder Eyeshadows are available here for £16.50.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried any of the Illamasqua eyeshadows and if so which shades you’d recommend. Also what are your favourite high end eyeshadows? Mine have to be Urban Decay I think!

Thanks for reading!
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Eyes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Illamasqua Powder Eyeshadow in Slink Review

  1. stashy says:

    I was able to pick up a few of Illamasqua eye shadows for half price – they’re really good but not the best I’ve ever tried. I have 2 quad palettes and some singles:
    Neutral palette (contains the shades Vintage, Stealth, Wolf, and Obsidian) – I really like this palette, very useful!
    Fatale palette (contains Bronx, Ensnare, Charm, and Mystify) – just ok, some shades better than others.
    Single shadows I own: Tango, Justify, Vernau, and Heroine

    I’d say my favourite high end shadows are a toss up between Estee Lauder and Make Up For Ever – mainly for how long wear they are. I do still love MAC for colour selection!

Leave a Reply

