Urban Decay Chill Makeup Setting Spray Review

Last summer I remember there being a heatwave and literally I was coming home from work with my makeup melted off feeling frustrated that it wouldn’t stay put and drastically needing something to increase the longevity. A lot of people have spoken about the Urban Decay Setting Sprays and since my skin is on the drier side I decided to give Chill a go. This has been a strange product it’s taken me much longer than usual to formulate an opinion on it but finally I have my thoughts.
urban-decay-setting-spray
The Urban Decay Chill Setting Spray retails for £23.50 for 118ml. I have the old packaging which I have to admit I really don’t like, the white plastic is a magnet for dirt and very easily gets grubby so I’m glad that there’s a new bottle design. Interestingly enough this was actually developed with Skindinavia so I was expecting great things from this.

The product description is as follows:
Stop makeup meltdown. Chill Makeup Setting Spray features cooling time-release Temperature Control Technology that actually chills the surface of your makeup—to keep it looking gorgeously just-applied for up to 12 hours. Developed in an exclusive partnership with Skindinavia, this groundbreaking, tested formula holds foundation, eyeshadow, blush and concealer in place. Perfect for all skin types, this weightless spray mists on to keep makeup from smudging or settling into fine lines. The result? Vibrant makeup that LASTS and a glowing, dewy, youthful complexion.

There is additional lines to the description however, that focuses on the new packaging and I’m going to be reviewing this old bottle so bear in mind that some of the things I will point out may have now be corrected. What separates Chill from the All Nighter setting spray is that this is formulated towards drier skin types and promises to lock in the makeup, keep it looking dewy and freshly applied whilst hydrating the skin.

Starting with the application and I’m going to be blunt I hate the nozzle on this! Rather than a fine mist that I was expecting this bursts out it’s not quite like a jet stream to the face but it’s definitely not fine. I also noticed that the nozzle tends to get stuck when pressed down which can also make application more of a pain.

In terms of the initial results this does feel quite cooling and refreshing on the face but doesn’t have that tight feeling that I expected from a Setting Spray which I’m pleased with. I’ve tried this with numerous bases, on my whole face and on just half of my face and I can tell a difference when I first apply this, my makeup looks more glowy and less mattified which is fine with me.

Unfortunately I did not notice any difference with the longevity of my makeup. Even when I only spray half of my face my makeup faded in the same way on both sides of my face. At first I wondered if I was missing the results but now that I’ve been testing it for a while I genuinely do not see any results. Yesterday I wore this on half of my face and I was having a pretty relaxed day in the house and my makeup had still worn away by 5pm so that really disappoints me.

Overall, this feels nice to use but it doesn’t deliver the results that it promises and considering it’s over twenty pounds I expected a lot more. Personally, I wouldn’t recommend this and I won’t be repurchasing, I am quite keen to try the Nyx and Gerard Cosmetics Setting Sprays because they have stellar reviews, this however, is just not worth the hype in my opinion.

The Urban Decay Chill Makeup Setting Spray is available here for £23.50.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried any setting sprays, which brands would you recommend and are they a staple in your routine?

Thanks for reading!
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Face and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

