Lilac Fairy Makeup Tutorial

When the Urban Decay Alice Through The Looking Glass Palette first came out I remember a lot of people being disappointed that the shade Dream On was very unpigmented. Not one to ignore a pretty shade, I decided to find a way to work it into a tutorial and I’m very pleased with the results. Here’s my tutorial.
Disclaimer – Due to glitter in the eyeshadow the photographs haven’t done the eyeshadows justice so if you have this palette I highly recommend you try this combination and see for yourself!

Eyes
eyes-and-lips
As always I start with my eye makeup and I always start by applying eye primer, this time I used The Body Shop Instablur Eye to provide a base for my eyeshadow to stick to. Next I went in with the eyeshadows, as mentioned above for this look I used the Urban Decay Alice Through The Looking Glass Palette but feel free to try this look with similar shades! I started by applying the shade Lily (which is a pale white duochrome with a pink shift) all over the lids. This works so well over the lids and creates a beautiful base. Next I used the shade Dream On I packed this on into the crease then lightly patted it over the the top of Lily, finally I added Royal Flush to my inner corners and Looking Glass under the brow bone and in the socket – the result is this beautiful lilac and pink pastel shimmery eye that is so fantasy-like. One the eyeshadow was complete I used my trusty Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer to cancel out any under-eye circles.

For the rest of my eyes I kept it quite simple using my Rimmel London Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl in Nude on my waterline, the Soap and Glory Smoulder Kohl (black) on my tightline, the Benefit They’re Real Lash Primer on my upper and lower lashes, and my L’oreal Telescopic Mascara on my upper lashes. For brows I noticed that they tend to look quite ashy in photos so I used my Sleek Brow Kit in Dark and then the Benefit Gimme Brow to fill them in.

Face
I wanted my face to look quite dewy and girly to compliment the pastel girly eye makeup. I started by applying my current HG primer which is the Stila Aqua Glow Perfecting Primer, it’s this soothing primer stick that feels incredible on the face and does a great job at hydrating my skin. Next was foundation, I opted for a medium coverage glowy foundation by using the L’oreal True Match Foundation the longevity on this isn’t the best but it does have a beautiful finish and perfect coverage for me. Bronzer was applied very lightly to the hollows of my cheeks and on my jawline, I used the Astor Deluxe Bronzer in 002 Safari Fever for a barely there look. For blusher, I used the Rimmel London Lasting Finish Mono Blush in Santa Rose, I’m really enjoying this at the moment it’s a pale, dusty pink with a matte finish perfect for adding some colour but still looking natural. I wanted to go with a pink-toned highlight so I used the MUA Undress Your Skin Highlighting Powder in Pink Shimmer/Oyster Pink it’s beautiful and can be used subtly (like I use it) or liberally. I only used a small amount of my Max Factor Creme Puff Powder in Truly Fair as my skin is quite dry at the moment, and for the same reason I used my Urban Decay Chill Setting Spray to maintain that glow.

Lips
look-3
This look is quite cool toned so I wanted to keep the theme going by using a cool-toned MLBB pink lipstick. For anyone wondering, this is the Essence Long Lasting Lipstick in Natural Beauty quite possibly my favourite lipstick of all time!
me
And there we have it this is the completed look and as warned earlier the rainy grey weather has washed the eyeshadow out but I can promise that in person it looks lovely!

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments what you think of this palette and this look and if it is something you will be trying, I think it will be lovely for spring!

Thanks for reading!
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Makeup Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

