Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Fiend Review

Today’s post is all about a lipstick that is absolutely beautiful but appears to be discontinued. But before you stop reading fear not because I have a dupe for you and if this lipstick is anything to go by I have a feeling that all of the new lipsticks by Urban Decay are going to be fantastic…
urban-decay-revolution-lipstick-in-fiend
The Urban Decay Revolution Lipsticks were houses in these weighty metal bullets which I absolutely love. The packaging merges silver and purple which again I really like. These lipsticks were priced at around £15.00 which is the same price as the new lipstick ranges.
fiend-swatched
Although it looks quite peachy in the tube Fiend is actually a muted rose shade that is perfect for day-wear. The formula is incredibly creamy, it glides onto the lips and offers a shine that makes it feel quite hydrating on the lips. The finish is a satin finish that feels almost glossy in texture.
fiend-compared-to-essence
(Left: Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Fiend. Right: Essence Long Lasting Lipstick in Natural Beauty.)

So I did mention that I have a dupe for you and as you can see the Essence lipstick is incredibly similar (ignore the patchiness that’s my poor swatching skills). In terms of the shades they are both nearly identical with the Urban Decay being a tad more pigmented.  The Essence lipstick is slightly less creamy and has more drag however, the Essence lipstick lasts a lot longer than the Urban Decay one does and I think that’s because the texture is a little drier. The Essence lipstick is much more budget friendly at less than £3.00 so we do have a solid dupe there. I’ve worn down my Essence lipstick to a stub now and I’ve noticed that the Essence lipstick is a little friendlier on drier lips. Both lipsticks are fantastic quality though and I know I’ll be getting a lot of wear out of both.
on-me-2 on-me
Both of these swatches are of me wearing the Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Fiend, as you can see the formula has that sheen to it with the most beautiful MLBB rosy shade. This is my perfect shade for daywear and I know that I’m going to get a lot of use out of it.

Overall, this is a beautiful lipstick, I’m sad that the Revolution lipsticks have been discontinued as I’m very surprised that Fiend isn’t a shade that is available in any of the new lipsticks because a lot of the original shades have been translated over. I would definitely repurchase this and I would recommend it.

The Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Fiend can be found on Amazon here (at a highly marked up price) or you can find the Essence Long Lasting Lipstick in Natural Beauty here.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried this lipstick or if you like this shade and let me know if you have tried any of the newer Urban Decay lipsticks and which ones I should try.

Thanks for reading!
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Lips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Fiend Review

  1. This is one of my fave UD lipsticks, Im so sad that it was discontinued.

  2. Very nice! I have the Essence lipstick too! I love their lipstick! ❤ x

Leave a Reply

