Products I’ve Used Up | Empties #22

I’ve managed to collect another box full of used up products and that means that it’s time to talk you through the products that I’ve used up and share my opinion on them. There’s been a mixed bag this month, some products I wasn’t too keen on, others I really enjoyed so I hope that you enjoy this post!
empties
Haircare
Head and Shoulders Smooth and Silky Conditioner
Both my boyfriend and I enjoy using Head and Shoulders shampoo and conditioners as we’re both prone to dry hair and scalps. This is a lovely conditioner adding just the right amount of moisture without making my hair greasy. It’s budget friendly and works well against dandruff.
Repurchase? Already have.

Johnsons Baby Shampoo
I always use this for wahsing my makeup brushes as it gives them a deep clean without leaving any residue behind or clogging up the hairs. Again this is a budget friendly offering and it does the trick.
Repurchase? Already have.

Wella Shockwaves Ultra Strong Power Hold Hairspray
This wasn’t bad but I’m fickle when it comes to hairsprays and I’m on a mission to find the best one possible. This had decent hold and it didn’t leave my hair too crispy, but since then I’ve discovered the Boots Essentials Unperfumed Hairspray that’s cheaper and does a better job.
Repurchase? Possibly.

Makeup
Benefit Benebalm
A lovely rosy tinted lip balm this keeps any dryness and keeps my lips soft and moisturised. This is pricey for a lip balm but it’s a nice product for lazy girls or those who prefer a sheer lip colour.
Repurchase? Possibly.

Rimmel London BB Cream Matte (sample)
I had fond memories of this but when I used this again it was heavier than I usually go for and the colour match was a tad too dark for me. I also tend to prefer a dewy finish so I don’t think I’d go for this again.
Repurchase? No.

Maybelline Instant Eye Eraser Concealer
I quite like this concealer as the yellow tone matches my skin and cancels out blue and purple tones under my eyes. The sponge is a bit of a pain and this is on the drier side but it lasts a long time and does the job.
Repurchase? Possibly.

Rimmel London Match Perfection Foundation
One of my favourite high street foundations, this is budget friendly and it does a great job as a base. I think that this is particularly good for those with drier skin as the added serum hydrates and doesn’t cling to any uneven texture.
Repurchase? Not yet but I will use again.

Bodycare
Grace Cole Watermelon and Grapefruit Shower Gel
This isn’t as readily available so some shower gels and to be honest there was nothing special about this. I also found that I wasn’t keen on the smell but I’m not a huge watermelon fan.
Repurchase? No.

Soft and Gentle Wild Rose and Vanilla Roll On Deodorant
My go-to deodorant I’ve gone through countless of these. This is one of the few deodorants that doesn’t irritate my skin, it smells pleasant and prevents odour.
Repurchase? Already have.

Nails
Sally Hansen Nail Growth Miracle
I was given this my a friend and some of it had been used so I didn’t get the full bottle of this but it did a great job at helping my nails grow. I’m yet to review this but I’ve already bought another because it really works!
Repurchase? Already have.

Misc
Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge
My beloved Real Techniques Sponge finally died but thankfully my parents listened and got me another one for Christmas. I’ve not tried the official beauty blender but this works so well for me and I rarely use brushes for my foundation now I have this in my life.
Repurchase? Yes.

Skincare
Boots Botanics Ultra Calm Gentle Cleansing Cream
I’m not sure if this has been discontinued because it’s not online but I’ve seen it in store. I picked this up when I had little money but needed a cleanser and this was really nice. This does the job at removing makeup and it’s very cooling and soothing on the skin.
Repurchase? Yes.

Eve Taylor Age Resist Day Cream (sample)
I wasn’t too pleased with this I found that with the Eve Taylor creams they tended to move around the skin but didn’t sink in effectively. I didn’t notice a difference with this.
Repurchase? No.

Eve Taylor Age Resist Night Cream (sample)
Again I found that this didn’t really sink into the skin and it wasn’t as rich and decadent as I would have expected for a night cream. I wasn’t enamoured with this.
Repurchase? No.

Eve Taylor C+ Brightening Moisturiser (sample)
This really did surprise me, it smelled nice, it sank into my skin and the radiance that it added was phenomenal, I wasn’t expecting to like this as much as I did but it was fantastic.
Repurchase? Yes.

Eve Taylor Ultra Soothing  Moisture Cream (sample)
Same issues as the other creams that this didn’t sink in and didn’t do much to my skin.
Repurchase? No.

Eve Tyalor Ultra Soothing Cleanser (sample)
This removed my makeup but I didn’t really feel that my skin was properly cleansed.
Repurchase? No.

La Roche Posay Redermic Eyes (sample)
This is aimed at those with wrinkles however, I really liked this. This helped the texture under my eyes and it added a lot of radiance that made my eyes look brighter. This isn’t a filler-type product but what it does do makes a lot of difference.
Repurchase? Yes.

Simply Argan Oil (sample)
I have a full review on this coming up on Sunday but to be honest this didn’t blow me away. This felt heavy on the skin, took forever to sink in and it felt like it clogged my pores. I’d use this on hair or nails but it didn’t blow me away.
Repurchase? No.

So there we have it, if you enjoyed this post, please hit the like button and let me know in the comments if you have tried any of these products or what you have used up recently. Also let me know if you still enjoy empties posts, I find them useful but everyone is different.

Thanks for reading!
love_nina

 

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Empties and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Products I’ve Used Up | Empties #22

  1. stashy says:

    I use Johnson’s Baby shampoo to wash my brushes too! It’s perfect – I’ve been using it for years.
    The Maybelline Instant Eye Eraser Concealer is my favourite drugstore concealer. I agree, the sponge is useless – I wished it was in a squeeze tube instead.
    The Rimmel London Match Perfection Foundation was recommended to me recently – I have tried the corresponding concealer and I recalled really liking it. I’ll have to keep the foundation in mind.
    Samples are so great, aren’t they? Look at all the ones that you wouldn’t purchase – saved you a ton of money!
    Great job on all the empties! 😀

  2. I love my Real Techniques sponge too! I have 3 ate the moment, I have to have my backups lol xx

Leave a Reply

