Eyeko Black Magic Mascara Review

Mascara is something that I feel is very personal. If someone might want length another might want volume – or you might want both! Eyeko is a brand that first came onto my radar when they collaborated with Alexa Chung, I’ve not tried anything other than the Skinny Liner but I was keen to try the Black Magic mascara and because I’ve a very lucky girl by boyfriend got it for me one Christmas, here’s my thoughts.
eyeko-black-mascara
Let’s start with the packaging and I love it! Housed in this sleek blue and black box it looks very futuristic. The silver squeezy tube is unusual (I’ve never had a mascara in a squeezy tube before) but I really like it, plus we get a little Eyeko guitar pick which is such a clever idea. This mascara is what I would consider high end retailing for around £17.00 (prices vary dependent on websites), mine came from Beauty Bay but this may be discontinued as it’s out of stock on a fair few websites (I have some links though don’t worry!)

The product description is as follows:
Transform your lashes with our ultimate mascara to create drama, volume and curl with an extreme carbon black finish for a full bodied lash fringe.”

Claiming to volumise, lift and curl with a carbon black finish this product does have a lot of product claims. Typically I like my lashes to be lengthened and slightly volumised but I avoid anything that clumps. I like my lashes to look quite fluttery but never overly thick or stuck together.
brush
The brush is a curved fibre brush with lots of thick bristles that really helps to layer the product onto the lashes. As you may be able to tell by the end of the wand this is a very wet product so if you do prefer your mascaras to be on the drier side then you may want to steer clear from this.

Although this does have the capacity to clump if you rush application, if you do take the time to ensure that each lash is coated and separated then this isn’t an issue. My lashes don’t tend to need much in the curling department but this does do a very good job or lengthening and volumising the lashes and it really does have a very black finish, it is quite possibly the blackest mascara I have ever used.
lashes-before lashes-after
(Left: lashes before. Right: lashes after.
lashes-4
(Wearing Eyeko Black Magic Mascara)

This is the kind of mascara where a little goes a long way, I personally find the formula to bevery effective and if like me you prefer non-spidery lashes then one coat is more than enough. If you do prefer clumpier lashes though you can layer this up making this quite a versatile mascara.

I’m plesantly surprised, I’d read mixed reviews onlin about this and not many people seem to be talking about it but I really like it! I’m not sure how it will be when it dries out but I really like it, although it is pricey it delivers everything I need. If you are looking to try a pricier mascara I would give this a try and I think if it was a tad cheaper I’d be tempted to repurchase this.

The Eyeko Black Magic Mascara can be purchased from QVC here for £16.00 with a delivery charge of £2.95.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments what you look for in a mascara and if you have any mascara recommendations! I still haven’t tried the Maybelline Lash Sensational so I’m keen to give that a try.

Thanks for reading!
love_nina

 

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Eyes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eyeko Black Magic Mascara Review

  1. Sharmili R says:

    Mascara is definitely a very personal item. What’s holy grail for one person may be terrible for someone else. It was so nice of your boyfriend to gift this to you! Glad that you like it 🙂 It looks really lengthening in your swatch photos!

    Mili | Sharmtoaster

    • Exactly everyone seems to love Rollerlash and I’m not a fan! My boyfriend is lovely bless him at Christmas and my birthday he goes through my beauty wishlist and then surprises me and I do the same for him with his games wishlist! xxx

  2. stashy says:

    What a sweet gift from your boyfriend! And glad to see it works well for you. For some reason, I really like mascaras in these squeeze tubes – I feel like I can get more of the product out vs the traditional hard tubes.

    • It was a Christmas present I believe I’m very lucky 🙂 I love the squeezy tube packaging, for some reason though tubes put me off for foundation because I feel like I’m getting less? xxx

Leave a Reply

