Northern Lights Makeup Tutorial

It’s been a while since I’ve sat down and created a full makeup tutorial but I really wanted to do something colourful and creative – this is definitely not a look that I’d recommend you wear to work! I’ve always been interested in the Northern Lights (or the Aurora Borealis) and I took a lot of inspiration from them to create this look, particularly on the eyes, I hope that you like it!
full-look-6
Eyes
I started by priming my eyes with the Body Shop Instablur Primer I knew I’d be using a variety of eyeshadows some with less pigmented formulas so I really needed something to hold them into place. I then started by using my BH Cosmetics 88 Shimmer Eyeshadow Palette I took a mint shade and applied that all over the lid. This eye makeup look involved applying eyeshadow almost in blocks and then blending so don’t worry about neatness to start with. Once I’d applied the mint shadow I took the shade Freeze from the Urban Decay Vice 3 Palette and applied that in a horizontal v shape in my outer corners. I also used a small amount of Heroine from the Vice 3 Palette and traced the outline of the V. On the inner corners I used Dragon from the Vice 3 palette then in the crease I used a mix of a purple shade from the BH Cosmetics palette and Alchemy from the Vice 3 Palette. I used the mint, green and blue shades on my lower lash line as well then blended it all.

To neaten up the shadow I used my Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer I also used this under my eyes. I skipped liner and used my Benefit They’re Real Lash Primer and L’oreal Telescopic Mascara from my lashes. For brows I used the Benefit Goof Proof Brow Pencil in 06.
eyes-2

Face
For face I avoided contour instead focusing on colour. I started by priming my face with my beloved Stila Aqua Glow Perfecting Primer I then applied my L’oreal True Match Foundation with a Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge. For blusher I wanted to go for a pink toned shade so I used my Essence Blush Up! Blusher in Heatwave for a beautiful pink and orange mix of colour. Highlighter was used on my cheekbones, down the centre of my nose, on my cupids bow and brow bone and I used the Illamasqua Gleam in Aurora. Finally I set my makeup with pressed powder I used the Max Factor Creme Puff Powder and pressed it into any the areas where my makeup tends to fade.

Lips
My face was quite simple so I wanted a bold lip as well as bold eyes, I’d used a lot of blues and greens on my eyes so I wanted my lips to be balanced with pink. I used the Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in Addis Ababa for a matte pink lip.
full-look-2
Here’s the finished look!

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments what you think of this look I’m really happy with the way it turned out! If you’re not following my blog already feel free to do so.

Thanks for reading!
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Crazy/Wacky Makeup, Makeup Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Northern Lights Makeup Tutorial

  1. Sharmili R says:

    I love the colors you used! It definitely reminds me of the northern lights– especially that jewel toned green! I would love to see the lights in person one day 🙂

    Mili | Sharmtoaster

  2. Beautiful look!! 💜 xx

Leave a Reply

