Jelly Belly Green Apple Lip Balm Review

Although I’m not a huge fan of jelly beans, I love apple scented things and I love lip balms so I was very excited to see Jelly Belly Lip Balms in Primark for only £1.50. I’ve been trying this out and I have to say that I’m shocked with the results and not in a good way, here’s my thoughts.
jelly-belly-lip-balm
The Jelly Belly Lip Balms come in typical plastic and cardboard packaging. The lip balms themselves are not packaged in anything particularly special, here we have a plastic tube with the plastic wrapping around it, nothing too fancy but we all know that it’s all about the product itself not the packaging. These are available on the Jelly Belly website for £3.00 but I got mine a while ago in Primark for £1.50.
product
I’m going to start with the scent which was extremely disappointing. Ideally I would have like a juicy apple scent but I would have taken a synthetic apple scent if not but what surprised me was that I couldn’t smell any apple whatsoever! This smelled more like plastic with a very slight hint of cheap apple laces but I could barely smell apple at all which surprised me as that’s supposed to be the main selling point other than the trusted brand name of “Jelly Belly”

Onto the formula and again this was very disappointing, I didn’t expect this to be super moisturising or overly creamy, I did expect more of a waxy texture like Chapstick but this didn’t moisturise whatsoever, instead the product is very stiff and doesn’t glide onto the lips. This drags and doesn’t seem to actually dispense product onto the lips at all, when you do get product on the lips you have a plasticy smell and it doesn’t really feel like anything, my lips felt a little sore and very dry after using this.
swatch
Finally is the biggest shocker of all. This product TINTS YOU GREEN! It might sound like a daft thing to say I mean it is a lip balm but nowhere did this say it was a tinted lip balm and yet swatching it shows a clear lime green pigment on my hand which was just awful. Let’s be honest if you put a lip balm on you don’t expect it to turn your lips a funny colour, this clung to dry patches and turned my dryness green I was horrified!

Overall, this is an awful product and I’m surprised that it made it past any form of quality control. With something like this I look for the moisturising properties or at least a novelty scent but I got absolutely nothing out of this product. The only saving grace is that it didn’t cost me a fortune to buy but quite honestly this is that bad that it’s going straight into the bin which I NEVER ever do with products. I would not recommend or repurchase this and if you do see this on your shelves do yourself a favour and buy a different lip balm!

The Jelly Belly Lip Balms are available here for £3.00.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried any of these lip balms and what you think of this product! If you’re not already doing so please follow my blog for more honest reviews (but hopefully no more unwanted green lips!)

Thanks for reading!
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Lips and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jelly Belly Green Apple Lip Balm Review

  1. stashy says:

    Oh dear. I’m not into green lips… I imagine it just looks grey on the lips since green + red = muddiness. They sell some of the Jelly Belly items at Claire’s here (which is an accessories store) – I’d been curious before because I love Jelly Belly beans! Too bad.

Leave a Reply

