Old Favourites Where Are They Now?

When I first started blogging I was completely new to the beauty world, I went through products that didn’t suit me or work for my skin type, I tried budge and high end with mixed results and ultimately I fell in love with some products that I don’t use anymore. I thought it would be fun today to go through my old favourites and talk about how I feel about them three years later, I hope you enjoy this post!
where-are-they-now
1) Barry M Gelly Hi Shine in Blueberry £3.99 (Boots)
This was the first Gelly Hi Shine Polish I tried and it’s still a polish that I absolutely adore. I haven’t repurchased it as of yet because I have so many polishes to work through but this is quite possibly my favourite nail polish of all time I really need to get this again because I adore it.

2) Charles Worthington Volume and Bounce Texturising Spray £6.99 (Boots)
This is a lifesaver for me, I’m yet to try any high end texturising sprays so this is still my favourite product for when I need volume. What I like about this is that unlike salt sprays it doesn’t dry my hair out, also the dry spray means that I can spritz, ruffle and go without dealing with stickiness.

3) Collection Lasting Colour Gel Liner in Black £4.99 (Superdrug)
This was the first gel liner I tried and whilst I do love a good gel liner I’ve since found better than this one. This isn’t too bad but it dries out extremely quickly and it has a tendency to crumble from the eyes. I actually prefer the Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Liner which I find it much creamier and easier to use, again I need to repurchase the Maybelline one as I currently don’t have any gel liners.

4) L’oreal Colour Riche Lipstick in Plum Passion (Discontinued)
This is discontinued but as my first L’oreal lipstick I remember adoring it. Now I prefer something with less slip and more wear so for darker colours I tend to go for matte formulas. This also was quite drying on the lips but at the time I didn’t think you could get moisturising lipsticks.

5) Nivea Soft Moisturising Cream £2.45 (Boots)
I still love this moisturiser and it really has stood the test of time, three years later and it’s beaten the likes of Clinique and Lancome and is still in my skincare stash (not the same tube though haha!) I’ve repurchased this repeatedly, it hydrates and soothes my dry skin without irritating my sensitive skin.

6) Rimmel London Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl in Nude £3.99 (Boots)
I used to wear black liner daily on my waterline until I realised that it always run and made me look like a panda. For daywear I like to go for a more natural look so this is still a staple in my routine. Creamy, longwearing and excellent and disguising red rimmed eyes I still love this.

7) Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder £3.99 (Boots)
I used and repurchased this for years without realising that it wasn’t doing me any good. Eventually this put me off powder entirely once I realised that this was seriously drying out my skin, now I’ve switched to one by Max Factor and I have to admit, powder isn’t the issue, it’s this powder that dries out my skin and clings to my dry patches.

8) Rimmel London Professional Brow Pencil in Black/Brown £2.99 (Boots)
This product seriously takes me back, it was the first brow product I ever used and I finally learned that filling in my sparse brows looked better than leaving them greyed out (thanks to poor foundation application!) Although I’ve since moved onto more high end products I still would recommend this to beginners and I would use this again.

9) Seche Vite Top Coat £9.00 (Boots)
Everyone loved this and a lot of people still do! I admit I bought this and I too fell in love with it however, this went gloopy so quickly! I got only half a bottle of use out of this before I needed to throw it and for the price I want the full product not half! Whilst this is a good top coat I’d like to try a more affordable one that doesn’t go gloopy as quickly.

10) Sleek Brow Kit in Dark £8.49 (Boots)
This was the first pomade/brow kit I used and I still love it, I only used it yesterday! This is budget friendly and it’s a fantastic product. The pigmented wax is great for filling in and shaping my brows and the powder really locks them into place. I would recommend this to people who may be trying cream brow product for the first time, it also comes with two mini brushes (they’re really good) and a pair of tweezers.

So there we have it, my trip down memory lane talking about some nostalgic products, if any of you decide to do this post feel free to tag and link me I’d love to read your nostalgic products and if they still work for you! If you enjoyed this please hit the like button and let me know in the comments your old favourites.

Thanks for reading!
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Favourites, Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

