GOSH Smokey Nudes Palette Review

Gosh is a brand that I’ve loved for a while now, I’ve tried so far their lipsticks, eyeliners, primer and nail polishes and so far I’ve been really impressed so I had high expectations for their eyeshadows. The Smokey Nudes palette doesn’t seem to be sold at Superdrug anymore but I received this as a gift a while ago and thought it was time to put it to the test.
palette
The Gosh Smokey Nudes palette comes in simple black plastic packaging (which of course gets grubby easily), inside we have a variety of smokey shades that can be combined to create a various smokey looks. I’m not sure on the price as I received this as a gift.
brush fluffy-brush
I’m going to start with the double ended brush that comes with this palette as the majority of the focus will be on the shadows themselves. In this palette they’ve avoided the standard doe foot applicator and have included a brush, to me the brush is half and half. The left angled side is very plasticy and synthetic feeling, it doesn’t pick up shadows very well and it’s very bendy but the individual hairs are very rigid. The fluffy side is much better it’s soft and not too dense, this does do a great job of blending.
inside
Inside are ten shades ranging from off whites and peach to nudes, silvers and deep jewel tones. The majority of these shadows are shimmery and glittery with a couple of mattes thrown in. Annoyingly the shadows aren’t named so I’m going to refer to them as numbers starting with the left and moving right.
shade-1 shade-2 shade-3 shade-4 shade-5
(Left to right: 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5)
swatches
(Left to right: 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5)
The two paler shades here are massively disappointing, the white is extremely chalky and is a very strange colour on the lids, the peach I had hire hopes for as it doesn’t look disimilar to Urban Decay’s Fireball in the pan but sadly this also is very poor in terms of pigmentation. Neither shades can be used on the eyelid. The two brown shades perform quite nicely, although they’re not the smoothest or butteriest of formulas they do go onto the lid and blend and wear well so those two are nice. The purple shade again has decent pigmentation but the formula is relatively chalky. All of these shades have a lot of fallout/
shade-6
shade-7 shade-8 shade-9 shade-10
(Left to right: 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10)
swatches-2
(Swatched left to right: 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10)
Both the dark blue and the black (6 and 7) are quite poor in terms of quality, both are matte but are quite chalky although the pigment is there. The silvery shades (8 and 9) are similar to the nudes from above these have a nicer formula and blend together quite nicely. Shade 1o which is the palest silver doesn’t translate as well and can wear away quite quickly.

Overall, I’m disappointed with this palette the formula ranges from quite nice to dusty with no pigment, it’s very inconsistent and to be honest there isn’t a single shade in this palette that I don’t have already in other palettes. I have to say I’m very disappointed with the quality of this and personally I wouldn’t recommend or repurchase this. This does appear to be discontinued so if you desperately want this palette I’d look on Ebay or Amazon.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button and follow me if you’re not already 🙂 Have you tried this palette? Let me know in the comments what your latest disappointing product had been.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to GOSH Smokey Nudes Palette Review

  1. Sharmili R says:

    That’s such a shame that the palette didn’t work out 😦 The color range is so pretty!

    Mili | Sharmtoaster

  2. Love honest review and this one is honest 🙂

  3. stashy says:

    I’ve wondered about the Gosh palettes. I don’t hear people talking about them much. I like that they’re so compact and the casing seems really sturdy. But too bad about the disappointing quality!

Leave a Reply

