Essie Strut Your Stuff Nail Polish Review

I have to admit I’ve had mixed experiences with Essie polishes, some of them are truly lovely and others are just disappointing despite the constant hype. Strut Your Stuff is a shade that I’m always drawn to. I love cool toned colours particularly blues and greens so I was excited to see this in TK MAXX for only £3.99. Here’s my thoughts.
essie
Strut Your Stuff first arrived on the scene within the Summer 2014 collection, sadly this shade didn’t get made permanent which surprises me as a lot of people wear blue polish and I think that this would be quite popular. This retailed for the standard Essie price (£7.99) however, I got it for £3.99.

I’m going to start with the shade which in my opinion is absolutely beautiful! Described by Essie as a “Compelling Cobalt Aqua” I’d say that’s pretty apt although this is definitely blue rather than the green shade that comes to mind when I think of Aqua.

The brush is a little on the thin side, I can work with standard polishes or flatter fat brushes but I do prefer the wider ones now, these thinner ones can be harder to use and I felt that the brush on this was a tad thinner than usual which made application more tricky.
swatches
(Left one coat, Right two to three coats)
This polish definitely needs building up if you want maximum opacity, one coat left me with a patchy finish so I can to use two or three coats (depending on how much polish you use per coat) to get a fully opaque finish which looked slightly darker than it did in the bottle.

My main issue with this is the formula, a lot of people complain about Essie polishes chipping and usually this isn’t an issue for me but this one chipped horribly. Within two days it had chipped enough that I had to remove my polish and whilst I could use something like Seche Vite to prolong the longevity, if a polish is costing me just short of a tenner than I expect at least three days worth of wear. The formula also felt quite runny which I think definitely contributed to the sheering out of the shade and the patchy finish.

Overall, the shade is nice but the formula definitely lacks, I wish Essie would create a slightly thicker formula and brush as I think we’d be on to a winner there. Personally, I wouldn’t repurchase but if you don’t mind relying on a top coat and you love this shade then I would recommend this.

Sadly there’s no direct link as I can’t find it in stock online (even wholesale) but I have seen it on Ebay and Amazon so check out those websites if you really love this shade.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried this shade and what your thoughts are on Essie polishes, do you love em or hate em?

Thanks for reading!
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Nails and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Essie Strut Your Stuff Nail Polish Review

  1. stashy says:

    Oh too bad about the chipping. Essies usually perform really well for me. I wonder if there’s something about the bright blue pigment?

Leave a Reply

