La Splash Smitten Waterproof Lip Tint Mousse in Deadly Nightshade Review

When LA Splash first announced that they were releasing Harry Potter inspired liquid lipsticks my heart skipped a beat. Although I didn’t go for any of those particular shades I’ve been keen to try out more liquid lipsticks and I decided to try Deadly Nightshade. Although I have tried some liquid lipsticks I’ve by by means tried them all, this is also the first product I’ve tried by LA Splash so here’s my thoughts.
la-splash-lip-tint
The La Splash Lip Tint Mousses are essentially matte liquid lipsticks. Starting with the packaging I’m not a big fan if I’m honest, I love the box but the tube with the pink on it does look a little cheap and tacky in my opinion. These are what I would describe as mid range, they retail for £9.95 on Beauty Bay which isn’t too pricey but it doesn’t fall within budget either.
la-splash-applicator
The wand is a curved doe foot applicator that looks as if it was designed to hug the lips. Personally I didn’t feel that this helped with application, I did struggle with the application because these apply wet but dry down very quickly so you have little time to perfect it before it sets. The first layer does go on sheer and kind of patchy but the second layer will give you the full opaque shade. I also noticed that these had a scent to them which I wasn’t keen on it’s kind of like paint or something which made me feel that I was really covering up my lips with a thick product.
la-splash-swatch
In person the shade is not as blue as it looks online. This is in daylight (with a lot of patience to get it to focus) so it looks brighter here but the actual colour is more like a grey toned blue, it’s not the rich navy that I hoped for which is a little disappointing. As you can see from this swatch here this is before it has completely dried down so it gives you a little bit of an idea of the texture.
la-splash-on-me-2
(This photo has been edited to try and show a truer colour originally in the light of my home it looked black which it definitely isn’t)

As to whether these are good or not completely depends on what you look for in a liquid lipstick. These do stay put for a very long time which is a bonus, once set they feel almost powdery on the lips rather than wet. The downsides are that these feel very drying on the lips, throughout the day my lips felt like the life had been sucked out of them so I typically used this then wore nothing but lip balm the day after just to keep my lips hydrated. If you are looking for something longwearing then these definitely are, but they do lack in terms of comfort.
la-splash-faded
This wore for around six and a half hours on me before it started to fade however, once it does start to fade it fades very obviously and in patches so do bear that in mind. If you are going to opt for a bold shade like this I would recommend touching up around the five to six hour mark to prevent this from happening.

Overall, I have mixed thoughts, these do stay in place and they do tick the box of the matte liquid lipstick. Downsides are that they feel very dry and they can be difficult to work with. I’m not sure if I would repurchase simply because I’d like to try more formulations from a variety of brands (so far I prefer the Nyx SMLC’s) but depending on what you are looking for you may get on with these.

The LA Splash Smitten Waterproof Lip Tint Mousses are available here for £9.95.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried any of these products by La Splash and if there’s any liquid lipsticks that I need to try, I do have my eye on the Kat Von D ones and the MAC Retro Mattes.

Thanks for reading!
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Lips and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to La Splash Smitten Waterproof Lip Tint Mousse in Deadly Nightshade Review

  1. Pingback: LA Splash Lip Couture Waterproof Matte Liquid Lipstick in Criminal Review | Nina Ross Beauty

Leave a Reply

