Nyx High Voltage Lipstick in Burlesque Review

When Nyx first landed in the UK I remember being incredibly excited and even now I have a lot of their products on my wishlist. One of the products that intrigued me were the High Intensity lipsticks, I hadn’t read any reviews but they looked very nice and so I ended up receiving one as a Christmas gift, here’s my thoughts.
lipstick
The Nyx High Voltage Lipsticks come in these sleek, slim tubes which are definitely unusual. The lid can be a bit of a pain, mine fell off quite a few times in my makeup bag so I think that improvement is needed there, these are priced at £5.50 like the majority of Nyx’s lip products.

The main selling point of the High Voltage lipsticks is that they are rich in pigment and have a very smooth formula, so I had high hopes for the dark red. I’ve had a few red lipsticks in the past that haven’t been matte but have had excellent staying power so I was excited to try a lipstick that didn’t dry out my lips.
top
The slanted tip means that these are quite easy to apply, in terms of style these remind me of the MAC Liptensity lipsticks so it could be that there is a potential dupe there.
swatch
Burlesque is exactly what I would expect of a shade with that name. It’s a deep yet rich red which I think is the perfect shade for autumn. There’s no patchiness and it leans more towards blue toned than orange toned.
on-me
Sadly it’s the formula that I don’t like of these, even with a lip liner these are way too slippery and they end up going everywhere, I wore this for a few hours and most of it had slipped, it was around my mouth even on my hands and even the usual tips such as blotting couldn’t stop this from moving.

Overall, I was disappointed with this, it had a lot of potential but it was way too messy, I think that for lighter shades this formula could be quite popular but unless you want a mess, I’d advise you to steer clear of anything too bright or dark.

The Nyx High Voltage Lipstick in Burlesque is available here for £5.50.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried these lipsticks and if you like Nyx lip products, mostly I love Nyx for lips!

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Lips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

