Brand Spotlight – Benefit

It’s been a long time since I have done a brand spotlight but I really like nosying into the history of brands and sharing some of my favourite and least favourite products. I’ve used quite a lot of products by Benefit (but not everything) so I thought that they would be a great brand to talk about this time round.
Image result for benefit cosmetics
Surprisingly the opening of Benefit was based on a coin toss of either a beauty boutique or a casserole cafe and was founded in 1976 as The Face Place by Jean and Jane Ford. Personally, I think the beauty boutique was a better choice as Benefit is now a key player in the beauty industry and I’d always prefer a blusher over a casserole! One of their most famous products was a blush and lip tint called “Rose tint” as a nipple tint for an exotic dancer! This was later renamed Benetint and over 10 million bottles have been sold since. In 1989 the product catalog was developed and the brand was renamed Benefit Cosmetics in 1990. A notable achievement of Benefit is that they set a Guiness World Record om 2012 for performing the most brow waxes in eight hours (a total of 382 brow waxes.)

Sadly there has been some scandals that Benefit have been involved in but I personally don’t think that this should be attributed to the founders. Previously they have been accused of fat shaming after joining the hashtag #MakeAMovieAFatty , a new hastga #BoycottBenefit started and the brand issued an apology. They were also accused of being racist following a caricature called Bon Qui Qui in one of their videos. In my opinion, I don’t think that prejudice or discrimination is ever okay and whilst I still own products from the brand, I was incredibly disappointed that the brand had been involved in these scandals. Benefit seems to have avoided stigma recently but they have attracted a mixed reputation particularly with their counter staff, for me personally though I have never experienced any issues with the brand.
benefit
Onto the products that I like and the They’re Real Mascara is one of my favourite mascaras, I also really like the cheek products particularly the Hervana A Good Karma Face Powder which I’ve been using a lot lately. High Beam is a gorgeous liquid highlighter which I really enjoy to use and although Benetint looks awful on my lips I do love it as a cheek tint.

As with any brand, there is products that just don’t work for me, They’re Real Liner was a concept that I just couldn’t get my head around and didn’t work for me. I was also disappointed with the RollerLash mascara that only worked for me once it had dried out but failed to blow me away. Finally, their skincare didn’t work for me and is something that I avoid.

Overall, I do like the products from Benefit although I do think that some of them can be misses, personally I think that Benefit needs to work on their attitude ensuring that all of their customers are treated fairly, in the mean time I’ll be reviewing some of their products over the next few months as I have a few of their holiday sets from last year to review.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you are a fan of Benefit products or if you avoid the brand, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Thanks for reading!
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Eyes, Face, Random and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Brand Spotlight – Benefit

  1. I had know no idea about the hashtag and stuff that was going on. I haven’t used many of their products. I like their porefessional though. I really would love to try some of their blushes. x

Leave a Reply

