Hair of the day – Relaxed Curls

Loose relaxed curls are a thing right now and when done properly I think that they look absolutely gorgeous. My hair is quite curly naturally but it’s very fine and prone to frizziness, if I want neater curls I like to use tongs and so I thought I’d show you this method to get relaxed curls over ribbon ringlets.
loose-curls
The tongs I have are some old Babyliss ones, they’re not anything special or new and to be honest I’m not even sure what model they are. They have a clip on them so you can open them and trap the hair inside, sometimes I do this but the result is ringlets rather than the relaxed curls that I wanted so I used a different method.

The method that I used today actually works better with a curling wand but you can do it with tongs as well if that’s all you have.

To Do:
1)
Section the hair by dividing the top part of your hair from the underneath. Start with the underneath and section that into two so you can work on a small area at a time.
2) Take individual sections of hair and wrap around the tongs from the top down keeping the hair free, be sure not to use a section that’s too large otherwise it will struggle to curl.
3) Once the hair is nice and toasty (don’t have it too hot) release the hair for a nice relaxed wave.
4) Repeat as often as required until all of the hair is curled.

A lot of people recommend alternating with the direction that you wrap your hair and I like to do this too, it stops your hair falling all the same way and adds a little extra volume and piecey texture which I really like. To finish I simply spritzed in some of my Charles Worthington Volume and Bounce Texturising Spray (brilliant for fine haired gals like me) and a small amount of hairspray on the top as I get so many baby flyaways.

That concludes this post, if you enjoyed it please hit the like button and let me know in the comments if you like to curl your hair, if there’s any other hairstyles you’d like to see for this HOTD series then let me know!

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Hair and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hair of the day – Relaxed Curls

  1. Sharmili R says:

    I always forget about alternating the direction of my curls :/ It definitely makes a difference! I love how yours came out 🙂

    Mili | Sharmtoaster

  2. Very pretty! I love wearing my hair wavy/curly. x

Leave a Reply

