Adore or Ignore | Mascaras

Mascara is something that I use daily no matter what I’m doing, so it’s fair to say that I’ve tried quite a lot of different mascara formulas. Today I thought it would be fun to do a hot or not post discussing which mascaras I like and which ones I didn’t really rate. The majority of these are drugstore with a couple of Benefit ones thrown in, please bear in mind that in past reviews I may have felt differently about these but this is how I feel now about these products, I hope that you like it!
masacaras
Mascaras I adore…
Benefit They’re Real Mascara £19.50 (Boots)
I switch between mascaras with bristle brushes and plastic brushes so it depends on the formula more than the brush in most cases but with this one I enjoyed both. My lashes often get tangled so I really love this plastic brush as it hooks into my lashes and really helps to lengthen and volumise them without clumping the bristles on the top of also useful for inner corners and bottom lashes. This has to be in my top two for mascaras.

L’oreal Paris Telescopic Mascara £10.99 (Superdrug)
The Telescopic is probably my holgy grail mascara for price, formula and brush it just does everything I need. Again this has a plastic brush but the bristles are a lot shorter, this one works well to lengthen and separate and it has the blackest formula I’ve ever seen. One thing I would say is that this isn’t quite as good as it dries out but I do still adore it.

Maybelline Rocket Volum’ Waterproof Mascara £7.99 (Superdrug)
I don’t typically go for waterproof mascaras however, I accidentally picked this up instead of the non-waterproof but still really liked it. This does also have a plastic brush but this one is a little different it has quite a fat barrel covered in small plastic bristles, this really helped to plump up my lashes without clumping them.

Oriflame The One 5 in 1 Wonder Lash Mascara £9.00 (Oriflame)
Another plastic brush here (sorry!) but this mascara feels a little different. The brush is a lot more flexible and the formula is a lot drier which I didn’t think would work however, this really did lengthen, volumise and separate without any clumping, yay!

Soap and Glory Thick and Fast Mascara £10.00 (Boots)
When I first got into beauty and started blogging this was one of the first mascaras I tried and it still blows me away. This is a synthetic fiber brush and it has a very fat conical wand that works wonder if it’s volume that you are looking for. Again, this doesn’t really clump but it manages to pack a lot of volume at the roots to lift your lashes.

Mascaras I ignore…
Benefit Roller Lash Mascara £19.50 (Boots)
A lot of people really rave about this but I just found that this did not work for me. Curling isn’t something that I really worry about with my lashes as they’re curled anyway so I’m probably not the best person to try this. This has a curved plastic brush designed to hook into the lashes, I did find though that this had a very wet formula that transferred, it also didn’t seem to really do much in terms of volume or length. Now that it’s drying out I’m enjoying it a bit more but do I want to have to dry out this to use it? No.

Essence Get Big Lashes Triple Black Mascara $3.99 (Ulta) or Wilko (in store)
I really like Essence as a brand but I wasn’t won over by this mascara. With it’s fat fiber brush I hoped that it would be like the Soap and Glory Thick and Fast but sadly it wasn’t. This was quite dry mascara that didn’t do much other than clump my lashes. Not a fan.

Maybelline Colossal Go Extreme Mascara £6.99 (Boots)
This was the opposite of the Essence mascara but equally as bad. Again we have quite a fat fiber brush in this case the brush is twisted and looks quite funky. My main issue with this was that the formula was very wet, this clumped the lashes and transferred which are my pet hates with mascaras.

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara £4.99 (Superdrug)
When I first tried this I find it quite good and gave it a positive review but since then I was left quite underwhelmed. The first thing is that the brush as absolutely tiny and made of twisted fibers. Now this doesn’t clump or transfer but the overall finish is very natural looking. If you like natural looking lashes then you will love this but for me I like something with a bit more oomph.

Mememe Sleek and Chic Lengthening Mascara (Discontinued)
This has to be the worst mascara I have ever tried now I’m not overly heavy handed but this was absolutely ridiculous not only did it do nothing but clump my lashes but the brush snapped! In all my life I’ve never have a brush snap on me before so I was very disappointed with this. It’s not available anymore but I have to say I won’t be missing it.

That concludes this post, if you enjoyed it please hit the like button and let me know what your favourite mascaras are and which ones you’d recommend, I love trying new mascaras!

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

 

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Eyes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

