Kat Von D Makeup Tutorial

I really like Kat Von D as both a celebrity and a role model. I remeber first seeing her on LA Ink and now she’s launched her infamous beauty brand in the UK! One thing that I also love about Kat Von D is her style, she’s unafraid of bold makeup looks and I adore that so I thought that it would be fun to try and replicate one of her looks, I hope that you like it!
kat von-d
(Left: me with a replicated look, Right: Kat Von D.)

Eyes
The eyes were probably the hardest part of this look mainly because I suck at winged liner but I like to think that I did okay here. I started by priming my eyes with The Body Shop Instablur Eye to really help to smooth out the surface and emphasise any eyeshadow. Next I did my undereye concealer using the Maybelline Instant Eye Eraser Concealer which does a fabulous job at blurring and neutralising my undereye area. Onto eyeshadow and I used my Rimmel London Glam Eyes Quad Eyeshadow in Smokey Noir I applied the lightest silver shadow across the lid then used the matt black shadow in the crease, it took a while to blend these two together but it created the same look as what Kat Von D wears herself. After this came the eyeliner, I used the Soap and Glory Supercat Liner across my upper lash line and then I used a kohl for the lower lash line, the one I chose was the Estee Lauder Pure Colour Kajal Liner in Black. For mascara, I wanted quite long and lengthened lashes so I chose my beloved L’oreal Paris Telescopic Mascara which is my all time favourite mascara. Brows were very difficult as mine are not heavily arched so it took a while to reshape my brows using the Sleek Brow Kit in Dark.

Face
I knew that I’d be using a lot of products on my face so again I used a primer and I chose the Illamasqua Hydra Veil Primer. Next was base, I started with my La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo Unifiant which was sent to me a while ago, and then I went over this was a thin layer of the Rimmel London Match Perfection Foundation which I applied using a damp makeup sponge. I chose to use bronzer, blusher and higlighter but carefully applied. Starting with bronzer I used my Astor Deluxe Bronzer in 002 Safari Fever and applied this very lightly in the hollows of my cheeks. My highlighter of choice was the MUA Undress Your Skin Highlighter in Oyster Pink it’s a favourite of mine and I’ve been obsessed with this. I was careful to choose a peachy pink blusher and use a very small amount, I chose the No7 Vital Brights Blusher in Blossoming Pink it’s a red toned coral blusher but a little goes a long way. I didn’t use powder or setting spray but I created the stars on my face using the same Soap and Glory Supercat Liner.

Lips
The lips were a lot redder in person but I think the photo washed me out a little. I started by lining my lips using a Pattina Cosmetics Moonlove Lip Liner in Scarlet my lips are definitely not this shape but I wanted them sharper and fuller, I also filled in my lips with this. I then went over the lips with one of my go-to red lipsticks the Natural Collection Moisture Shine Lipstick in Cherry Red it’s a great combo as it lasts and unlike most lipsticks this doesn’t dry my lips out.

That concludes this tutorial, it would have probably worked better with Kat Von D products but sadly I don’t have any! If you enjoyed this post please hit the like button and let me know in the comments what you think of this look.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Makeup Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

