Decluttering My Makeup

As a beauty blogger I often end up with an excessive amount of beauty products, I like to try new products and let you guys know what I think, I’m also lucky enough to get sent some products and so I end up with more than I ever need and understandably some get forgotten. I’ve mentioned previously about decluttering on my blog, I like to try and pass on the products I don’t use rather than bin them, friends and family tend to get the first shout and there’s also some great charities out there that you can donate to, so I thought today I’d share with you some of my top tips for decluttering beauty products and what I’ve passed on.
declutter
Tip 1 – Be mindful of what you buy
I’m not saying don’t ever buy anything ever again because let’s be honest consumerism is a thing and we all like to treat ourselves but when I’m shopping I think about what I need and what I don’t have in my collection. I went through a phase of purple lipstick and I ended up with so many lipsticks that were the same colour and so I passed along the ones I didn’t really reach for. If you know that you have a weakness for something, try and avoid getting the same product over and over.

Tip 2 – Don’t open multiple items at once
For things like lipstick and nail polish this isn’t a big deal as they have a relatively long shelf life, but often people see my stash and can’t understand why I have a lot of unopened products but that’s because I like to use what I have. I have enough mascaras that I won’t need any for a while but mascaras have a very short shelf life of three months, I had them all open at the same time most would expire and I’d either be wasting products or risking an eye infection.

Tip 3 – Check the expiry dates
Image result for beauty expiry date
You will notice that your products will have a sticker or image on the back that looks like this. The m stands for month and the number equates to how many months this product will last once opened. Open products can be a breeding ground for bacteria especially things like mascara and lip gloss that have applicators that get dumped in the products repeatedly. If you have a lipgloss or mascara that you haven’t used for years it’s most likely out of date and you risk infections or reactions by using them. You can check for any changes in scent or formula or colour to get a rough idea but if you’re unsure, bin it.
Powder based products tend to last longer but things like concealers, lip glosses and mascaras expire quicker.

Tip 4 – Ditch the duplicates
You might check your stash and realise that you have multiples of the same product but you may also realise that you have lots of products that are similar in tone eg similar lipsticks. If this is the case pick your favourite formulas and ditch the rest. Back to the purple lipstick, I had around five so kept two and passed on three. Same for my pink lipsticks, I had two that were the exact shame shade and formula, one I kept and one I passed on. To quote Confessions of a Shopaholic ask yourself “Do I need this” and don’t talk yourself into keeping everything either!

Tip 5 – Pass on things that you don’t like
Most makeup can be sanitised, so if there’s something that just doesn’t work for you, why not pass it onto a friend? Something that I’ve done in the past with friends and family is gathered up products we don’t like and then swap them, both I and my friends and family have found new products to try and the ones we didn’t like got to go to a better home. My mum visited me the other day and walked away with a carrier bag stocked full of products, simply because we have different skin types and we look for different things in a product, what might be a dud to you could be someone’s treasure.

Some products I’ve passed on…
Now that I’ve gone all Marie Kondo on you all (not really) here’s some products I passed along, I’ve only included a small selection here because I passed along an entire bag to my mum and she took it before I had chance to make notes of what I’d given away so this is purely based on memory…

Lancome Hydra Zen Moisturiser – This irritated my skin but my mum wanted to try this.
Body Shop Instablur Primer – I didn’t like this, it dried me out but it works for someone like my mum who struggles with her pores.
GOSH Velvet Touch Lipstick in Flirty Orange – I’m not sure if I’ll be able to pass this along as my family tend to go for quite neutral shades but I’m sure I’ll find someone who would love an orange lipstick.
Seventeen Mirror Shine Lipstick in Beehive – I use the shade Belle more than Beehive and my nan fell in love with this when she tried it, I will admit it looks gorgeous on her.
FCUK High Impact Lip Kit – The lip crayons didn’t last and the glosses were too sticky but again my nan liked the lipglosses so she’s taken then and is using them a lot.
Clinique Pop Lip and Primer in Cherry Pop – Mum doesn’t really get on with matte lipsticks but I found this too slippery, she doesn’t have a red though and I have a few so she’s taken this.
Kiko Nail Lacquer in Metallic Rose Mauve – I couldn’t get this to work for me however, my mum has taken this to try, fingers crossed it’ll work for her!
China Glaze Too Yacht To Handle – I couldn’t get along with this formula but I’m still trying to shift this, I think it would look nice on my nan for her holidays.
Primark Quick Dry Nail Spray – Mum hates waiting for her nails to dry so I really think that she’ll get a lot of use out of this unlike myself.
Collection Hot Looks Fast Dry Nail Polish in Catwalk – I didn’t expect my nan to take an olive toned polish shot through with gold shimmer but it looked amazing on her and I know that she’ll use it.

So there we have it, my latest declutter! I know it may not seem like a lot but I keep a bag in my room for all of the products that I don’t rate so others get a constant supply of makeup newness. If you enjoyed this post please hit the like button and let me know in the comments if you declutter your beauty products I like that the new room I have can be used for more products! *Shifty Eyes*

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Decluttering My Makeup

  1. najjo8844 says:

    I have soo much makeup that I don’t need if I’m honest but I can never let them go😐

Leave a Reply

