Products I’ve used up | Empties #17

Seventeen times I’ve written an empties post (probably more in fairness) but I have to say it’s still a concept that I not only enjoy reading and writing but I also find useful. This is where I talk about which products I’ve used up and whether or not I’d repurchase.
empties
Haircare
Head and Shoulders Instant Dry Scalp Care Anti-Dandruff Shampoo
I always go back to Head and Shoulders as both myself and my boyfriend have dry scalps and this really does help. This one was hazelnut scented and we both enjoyed the scent too. I honestly find that if one of us is having an Eczema flare-up this is the only brand that eases it – even of medicinal shampoos!
Repurchase? Already have but in a different scent.

Essentials
Superdrug Acetone Formula Nail Polish Remover
Again this is something that I’m constantly repurchasing, I just don’t see the point in spending a lot of money on something that I use up so quickly. This one is cheap and cheerful and it does the job.
Repurchase? Already have.

Soft & Gentle Wild Rose and Vanilla Roll On Deodorant
I can’t use spray deodorants as they cause Eczema flare ups under my arms but I love this one by Soft and Gentle. It never irritates no matter how sore my skin is, plus is smells delicious, is budget friendly and it actually works.
Repurchase? Already have.

Bath and Shower
Grace Cole Pineapple and Passionfruit Shower Gel
This was okay but it didn’t really stand out to me, I do really like Grace Cole as a brand but I’ve found other products that are cheaper and are nicer to use compared to this particular product. I do have a few of her shower gels but this one wasn’t really for me.
Repurchase? No.

Lush Brightside Bubblebar
I love Lush products and Brightside does smell quite nice very orangey. Unfortunately I hated the way that this made my bath look, it turned it an awful shade of brown! I don’t hate this product but I prefer the other bubblebars such as The Comforter so I probably wouldn’t repurchase this.
Repurchase? No.

Lush Big Bang Bubblebar
This didn’t produce any colours in the bath but that was solely my fault as the paper packaging had gotten wet without me realisng so the colours bled away! Having said that, this has a really nice bubblegum scent that’s not too sickly. I also love how Lush products make my skin feel.
Repurchase? Yes.

Makeup
Rimmel London Scandaleyes Shadow Stick in Bluffing
This is such an underrated product but it’s so lovely, it’s a silvery brown tone that’s perfect for everyday. The formula is lovely and creamy but never creases, this can be used on its own or as an eyeshadow base. I was seriously impressed with this and it’s super budget friendly.
Repurchase? Yes.

L’oreal True Match Foundation in 1N
I’m forever alternating between this foundation and Rimmel London’s Match Perfection but I really do like this one. It’s got quite a thin formula that doesn’t work too well with brushes, but with a damp sponge this offers a medium coverage with a lovely dewy finish. The shade was perfect for me and my undertones as well.
Repurchase? Yes.

Estee Lauder Doublewear Concealer Sample Pods x2
These were really impressive, a little really does go a long way and the have seriously high coverage. I do like these but I didn’t see the point of them as the foundation is so high coverage that in my opinion concealer isn’t really necessary. Admittedly I did use these for blemishes but I’m not sure if they’d be too heavy under the eyes.
Repurchase? No.

Estee Lauder Illuminating Perfecting Primer Sample Pod
I was disappointed with this it just didn’t seem to do anything at all! This was quite runny and it left the face feeling slightly tacky but didn’t do anything in terms of glow for me at all, it also did’t seem to prime and for me, primer is a pretty important step in my routine.
Repurchase? No.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz in Dark Brunette
I was very impressed with this, the nib is great for drawing brow hairs, the formula is neither too creamy nor to waxy, the tone was again great not too warm or cool and generally this made my brows look amazing. This was my first product by ABH and I’d definitely say that it’s worth the hype.
Repurchase? Yes.

Benefit Benetint Sample
This is really pretty on the cheeks although it can be a bit tricky to work with, I like how longwearing it is and the natural finish it gives. For the price however, I’d like it to be multi-purpose as it claims but this didn’t work on my lips, it dries out the lips and it sinks into any fine lines or cracks leaving a mess behind.
Repurchase? No.

Benefit High Beam Sample
I really liked this, it is a great highlighter and can be used both under or over makeup but I have to say I do think that again, this is expensive. I wouldn’t repurchase this, not because it’s a bad product but because there’s an exact dupe (Technic High Lights) that I like that’s only £1.99.
Repurchase? No.

Skincare
Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser
This is my second tube of this and I’m gutted to have used it up because it’s so darn good. This really is amazing, it’s nourishing, it’s great at cleansing, it smells lovely and it leaves my skin smooth and pampered, I adore this.
Repurchase? Yes.

Merumaya Gentle Exfoliating Toner Sample
I like Merumaya as a brand but this product didn’t see to really do much for me, considering the hype I did expect this to do a little more than it did do.
Repurchase? No.

Merumaya Iconic Youth Serum Sample
I really liked this, it did everything that I want a serum to do which is mainly to hydrate and nourish my skin. I think that Merumaya is quite affordable for the quality of the products and I liked this a lot.
Repurchase? Yes.

Eve Taylor Purifying Wash Sample
I wasn’t keen on this it smelled very strongly of herbs and I found that my skin felt quite tight and stripped after using this so I wouldn’t bother using it again.
Repurchase? No.

Eve Taylor Purifying Moisture Lotion
Again, I wasn’t keen on this, it was way too runny to the point where it dripped and it didn’t sink into my skin, again this smelled quite herbally so I wasn’t keen. I prefer my Nivea Soft.
Repurchase? No.

Eve Taylor Exfoliating Scrub
This was very scrubby so it isn’t something that I’d use every day but it did do a good job or removing my dry skin. I do have exfoliators that I prefer but this wasn’t bad.
Repurchase? Possibly.

That concludes this post, I did a slightly different format so please let me know if you find this easier to read, I think it works better. If you enjoyed this please hit the like button and let me know in the comments if you have tried any of these products.

Thanks for reading!
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Empties and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

