The “No Makeup Makeup” Tutorial

I do like to try and use a variety of products but on a day to day basis, I tend to like my makeup to be more on the natural side now that I’m no longer a teenager. That’s not to say that I don’t still opt for a bold eye or lip at times but for things like interviews and work I like to be much more natural and quite a few people seem to feel the same. With that in mind, I thought that I’d have a go at a more natural look for you guys, of course I am wearing a fair bit of makeup but I wanted to create a healthy and youthful look, hopefully you like it!
14914522_10154429050265266_1801786666_n
Eyes
Starting with eyes and I always begin with an eye primer, at the moment I’m using The Body Shop Instablur Eye which has a horrible texture but does work to smooth out and prime my eyes. The day I wrote this post and did this look I’d had an awful night’s sleep so I not only had dark circles under my eyes but also my sockets seemed quite dark so I used the Maybelline Instant Eye Eraser Concealer to neutralise all of the purple tones going on there. Next was eyeshadow, I didn’t want this look to be too fancy so I only used the one shade and that was Naked by Urban Decay. I used a fluffy brush to apply this to my lid and crease. For liner, I chose a nude shade and that’s my beloved Rimmel London Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl in Nude just to hide any red rims! Mascara was something that I wanted to be very low-key so I wiped the majority of the product off of the brush before using Benefit’s Rollerlash Mascara on both my upper and lower eyelashes. I always do brows last but I ended up using my Sleek Brow Kit in Dark I avoided the wax and applied a very small amount of the powder for a softer look.

Face
My skin has been very dry lately after testing a silicone-heavy primer this week so I really wanted to inject hydration and glow without having to use a highlighter. I started with the Illamasqua Hydra Veil which is a gel-textured hydrater and primer and it did a wonderful job at softening my skin. Next was base, I would have only gone for a light base however, I had a lot of blemishes so I started by applying my La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo Unifiant in Light over my whole face, I’ve used this non-stop since it was sent to me and I really do like it.

I then applied my Rimmel London Match Perfection Foundation with a damp Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge. I always prefer a sponge over a brush for foundation as it creates a softer finish, brushes tend to leave my face quite streaky and dry looking. I used my Astor Deluxe Bronzer in 002 Safari Fever but rather than a heavier contour I simply added a small amount to the hollows of my cheeks and then warmed up the face around the edges of my face and around my nose. I used a very light hand just to keep it natural and then avoided highlighter.

Blushers can sometimes look unnatural but I wanted a healthy flush so I chose to use my Benefit Benetint I really love this for creating a healthy rosiness to the cheeks, If it ever goes patchy I’ll tidy up any edges with my foundation sponge to soften it.Powder was only used down my nose and chin where I get oily and my choice was the Max Factor Creme Puff Powder.

Lips:
I wanted to get that just bitten look but liquid cheek and lip tints often look unflattering on me and they have a tendency to sink into any fine lines so I opted for a tinted lip balm. For this look I used Benefit’s Benebalm it has just enough pigment to add a healthy looking tint without being too obvious.

That concludes this post, if you enjoyed it please hit the like button and let me know in the comments if you like to use natural looking makeup.

Thanks for reading!
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Makeup Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The “No Makeup Makeup” Tutorial

  1. Sharmili R says:

    Your no makeup makeup is so pretty 🙂 I love the lip color! A tinted lip balm is so perfect for everyday wear.

    Mili | Sharmtoaster

Leave a Reply

