Body Shop Colour Crush Lipstick in Damson in Distress Review

If there was ever a lipstick that you need this autumn then it has to be the Body Shop Colour Crush Lipstick in Damson in Distress. This is the first time I’ve actually tried a Body Shop lipstick thanks to Rachel who bought me it as a present a while ago and I’m so impressed with the formula, think matte but not drying and in the most beautiful shade of plum…
lipstickinside
Let’s start with the packaging, it’s a silver metal bullet (no plastic here) which I love and then it has this plastic metallic pink lid with the logo on it. Damson in Distress is one of 28 shades and it’s a really beautiful plum shade, it is the darkest shade the the Body Shop does but it’s not unwearable, these lipsticks retail for £10.00.

I’m going to start with the formula first, it’s a satin finish but it’s not super glossy or slippery. The lipstick has enough creaminess to it that it’s easy to apply but it has enough drag to it to make sure that it won’t slip and slide and to increase the longevity. The only problem is that it does wear away within four hours which is a shame, but it fades evenly.
swatch
The punny name is remniscent of the fruit Damsons which are purple in colour. This is a pink toned violet shade which I think is so pretty. It’s neither too light nor too dark, it looks quite pink here but it’s a little more purple on the lips but not offensively so.

The finish is a satin, it doesn’t have that excessive glossiness to it which I like, but it’s not wholly matte either you can move your lips and it won’t dry them out. These lipsticks do contain Marula Oil to help to hydrate and prevent them from being too drying.
on-me
A lip liner would probably be useful for these but they don’t manage bad without one. The photo above has me wearing this lipstick without a lip liner and you can see that it hasn’t bled or feathered which is definitely a bonus. I really love this shade.

Overall, I’m very impressed, these are pricey at £10.00 per lipstick however, the formula and shade is really decent. If there was one thing I’d change then I’d make this a matte finish just because it’s less likely to smudge, but that is me being picky. It’s a great colour and a great formula and I would both recommend and repurchase lipsticks from this range.

The Body Shop Colour Crush Lipstick in Damson in Distress is available here for £10.00.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you would wear this shade and of course if you have tried the Colour Crush lipsticks, I’ll definitely be trying out some more from the range!

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Lips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

