Reading Roundup #1

I am absolutely obsessed with reading, I actually set myself a challenge to read thirty books this year and completed it within two months which just goes to show that I like to read a lot. Now that it’s autumn I thought it would be fun to recommend a variety of books depending on your mood, so that you too can snuggle down and enjoy the power of the written word I have eighteen books to recommend so hopefully you will find something new, if not feel free to visit my Goodreads here to see what else I’m reading!
books
Chick Lit:
Sushi for Beginners – Marian Keyes
Set in Ireland, Marian Keyes excels at creating loveable chick lit stories and characters that touch upon and go through real life issues including alcoholism and depression. I’d recommend this if you enjoy romantic novels with a bit of grit.

The Only Way Is Up – Carole Matthews
Carole Matthews is an author that I turn to whenever I need a bit of a reality check! The Only Way Is Up follows the character who falls from riches to rags and needs to learn how to adapt. This is a real eye-opener to the importance of friendship and it will make you feel grateful for what you have.

Unsticky – Sarra Manning
If you enjoy plenty of steamy sex within your novels that I’d highly recommend Unsticky by Sarra Manning. Both of the central characters are damaged from turbulent backgrounds and this book is great to show the power of healing and the effects of trauma. It also has plenty of juicy parts as the main character works at a fashion magazine and quickly is elevated into a world that she could have only dream of. A must read.

Classics:
A Little Princess – Frances Hodgson Burnett
This is aimed towards a younger audience but if you enjoy literature like I do then I would highly recommend this. This follows the tale of a young girl who slips from riches to rags following an unfortunate event. This shows the importance of kindness and will fill you with hope.

Little Woman – Louisa May Alcott
T
he first time I read this I was a child and I still reread it even now. This is probably my favourite classic following a family in the war who suffer from poverty. Again this touches upon family and friendship and just reveals how you can survive on next to nothing.

The Diary of a Young Girl – Anne Frank
I’m sure that we’re all familiar with the story of Anne Frank but her diary really is insightful into the horrors of the war and the hope and faith of one young girl. This is of course a tear-jerker and we all know how the story ends but this is brilliant for understanding more about Anne Frank’s life.

Crime:
American Devil – Oliver Stark

If you’re a fan of the more twisted crime novels and you don’t mind plenty of gore then I’d highly recommend this book. For a debut novel this is absolutely fantastic and I was on the edge of my seat all the way through. I love the addition of the psychotherapist which adds to the suspense.

The Crucifix Killer – Chris Carter
Similar to American Devil do NOT read this if you are faint hearted or squeamish because this series has to be one of the goriest I have come across. I love the partnership between the two detectives, it’s really interesting and heart warming and every time I read one of Chris Carter’s books I always fail miserably at guessing the ending.

The Cuckoos Calling – Robert Galbraith
For those of you don’t know Robert Galbraith is a pseudonym for JK Rowling but don’t be fooled, this is nothing like the Harry Potter series yet it’s equally as fantastic. If you’re looking to dip a toe into Crime then I’d definitely recommend this series, it has all of the elements of crime but is a little less complex and less gory too.

Fantasy:
Game of Thrones – George RR Martin

As a huge Game of Thrones fan I couldn’t not mention this. If you have seen the show then you will most likely have seen the books if not allow me to enlighten you. This is fantasy at it’s finest with a whole different universe, dragons, swordfights and treachery there’s plenty to sink your teeth into with this series.

Hounded – Kevin Kearne
I adore the Iron Druid series and both myself and my boyfriend love this book. If you’re a geek then you’ll love the references to films and books, the story follows a druid in an urban setting, with mystery, magic and a talking dog who is the funniest character EVER this series is not one to be missed.

Spider’s Bite – Jennifer Estep
These aren’t published in the UK so thank the lord for Amazon! This is very fast paced and punchy again there’s magic and the lead character is no less than an elemental assassin. Sex does happen in these but it’s not the center piece with these novels. For plenty of action I’d highly recommend these books.

Memoir:
A Child Called It – David Pelzer

I’m not one to usually read what I call ‘child abuse’ stories simply because I find it hard to detach but this trilogy by Dave Pelzer not only discusses the horros he faced but how he got over it and how it shaped his life. He’s also created a self-help book for people who may have suffered, very harrowing and sad.

Columbine – Dave Cullen
The Columbine tragedy is something that still shocks and fascinates people to this very day. This offers the insight from a journalist who reported on the events, we learn about the families, the victims and the shooters but we also understand the press swarm and the media response as well which is distressing yet powerful and interesting.

Forgotten Voices of The Holocaust – Lyn Smith
I cried so many times when reading this because this is made up of lots and lots of snippets of different survivors of the Holocaust sharing their memories and experiences. This doesn’t read like a traditional story or memoir instead we have hundreds of voices all sharing their detailed memories from the horrific past. This is incredibly hard to digest but so insightful.

Thriller:
Let The Right One In – John Ajvide Lindqvist
This is a swedish novel (english version linked) following the story of Eli. I can’t say much without giving this away but we see horror, murder, suspense and mystery in this book and it is truly unlike anything else I’ve read. It’s not an easy read but it’s very interesting.

The Guilty One – Lisa Ballantyne
This is one of the most shocking novels I have read in terms of the concept. There’s two main storylines we have the main character who is a lawyer fighting for a child accused of murder. We have the storyline of the child including the trial and court proceedings then there’s the lawyers backstory too, this incorporates grief, murder, crime and guilt – a series page turner with one of the most shocking endings I’ve ever read.

The Fog – James Herbert
Shrouded in mystery this novel details a mysterious fog that appears and causes the world to suffer with violent madness. There’s plenty of madness and horror in this book along with suspense, I think that this is very creepy and eerie and it definitely made me shudder a few times. Not your typical suspense or mystery novel but well worth a read.

That concludes this post, if you enjoyed it please hit the like button and if you’re not following my blog already please feel free to do so. Let me know in the comments if you have ready of these books and if you do read one feel free to tweet me your thoughts @ninarossjournal.

Thanks for reading!
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

