No7 Define and Shimmer Eyeshadow Palette Review

Maybe it’s the fact that I’m completely addicted to beauty or it could be that I’m just bonkers but whenever I get my hands on a new beauty product I have to review it, even if it’s something like this where it has been discontinued. Having said that, wholesaler stores and sites such as Ebay and Amazon are now popular haunts for the long forgotten beauty products and I get the feeling that this may still be floating around on the internet so in my opinion, it’s worth a review.
n97
This palette definitely has seen better days, the black plastic packaging easily is scratched though this does have obvious signs of wear! The No7 is stamped into the middle but they used black on black so it’s not visible, when Rachel gave this to me the hinge on the back was also broken so this has to be laid flat. I’m not sure how much this retailed for in all honesty.
shades
Inside the palette we have a mirror (at one point I’m sure there will have been a brush) and of course we have the eyeshadow shades. From left to right we have a yellowy cream, a pale pistachio, a deep cocoa brown and a rich cranberry. I’m reviewing this palette now because these are very autumnal shades.
fingers
I have to say I only really like two colours in this palette and they are the dark brown and the cranberry. I can use the green but with my eyes also being green usually I’d opt for a deeper green shade. The cream shade is something that I’m not keen on, it’s quite yellow toned and the formula isn’t great, although it could be used as an inner highlight.
swatches
The quality and texture varies with each shadow as I’m sure you will be able to see from the swatches. The cream shade is very powdery and very bitty so I’m not keen on this. I struggle to get this to apply evenly and it gives a very powdery finish. The pale green isn’t too bad the formula definitely is less drying however, I just find that it has a low pigment and doesn’t translate very well.

The darker shades are much better and I have actually been reaching for these shades quite a lot, the deep brown is very pretty it has a rusty tone to it and the texture is very soft and buttery with minimal fallout and maximum blendability. The same goes for the cranberry shade which is my favourite of this palette, I never thought I’d like cranberry eyeshadow but this truly has converted me, it’s so autumnal and so flattering against my olive skin and green eyes.

Overall, my opinion on this palette is mixed, the brown is nice but nothing dissimilar to what I have and although the crnaberry shade is gorgeous there will of course be dupes out there. I think that the main issue with this palette is a lack of consistency and so I wouldn’t recommend of repurchase it.

The No7 Shade and Define Eyeshadow Palette is discontinued however, you may find this in wholesale stores or online on places such as Amazon and Ebay.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have ever had a palette where the shades were very different in formula!

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Eyes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No7 Define and Shimmer Eyeshadow Palette Review

  1. Sharmili R says:

    The two darker shades look gorgeous! At least you can can use those 🙂

    Mili | Sharmtoaster

Leave a Reply

