Dia De Los Muertos | Sugar Skull Makeup Tutorial

In a way this is a double post because not only is it nearly Halloween but the 1st of November marks Dia De Los Muertos – the Day of the Dead. For those of you who don’t know the Day of the Dead is a holiday celebrated in Mexico where people pray for and remember their loved ones. Sugar Skulls are typically given as gifts and there’s plenty of dressing up too, so I thought in honour of both Halloween and Dia De Los Muertos I’d attempt to create my own makeup look.
end-look final
Step One
step-1
The first step is to blank out the face, a lot of people use face paint for this but I’m actually allergic to face paint so I used my L’oreal True Match Foundation in 1N on the skin leaving out the area around the eyes. For my lips, eyebrows and the circles around my eyes I used the Nyx Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk.

Step Two
blue
Next you want to fill in those white eye spaces with your chosen colour. I opted for a bright blue as it’s my favourite colour. Taking my Urban Decay Freeze Eyeshadow from the Vice 3 Palette I packed on the shadow over my lids, and eyebrows and around the eye area. My brows are very dark so to dry to blank these out I tried to really pack on the colour. Later I noticed that the rims of my eyes stood out as very pink against the blue so I also used the GOSH Velvet Touch Liner in Sky High across my waterline. I added mascara later too and I opted for the Benefit Rollerlash Mascara. Once the blue was filled in I then took a dark blue shadow to outline the shape. I used Urban Decay’s Heroine also from the Vice 3 Palette to do this.

Step Three
black-details
Next I created the petals on the eyes and then the black detailing. To create the petals I used my Real Techniques Silicone Liner Brush as it’s very precise. I started with the Freeze Eyeshadow and created petals leaving enough space for an alternate colour. I then went around again using Urban Decay’s Alchemist Eyeshadow from the Vice 3 Palette and repeated the process. For the detailing I used a mixture of felt tip liner and liquid, I’d recommend felt tip as you have more control and don’t have to keep going over the same parts, even better would be a gel. I used the Soap and Glory Supercat Felt Tip Liner to extend the mouth and draw on the stitches, then I used the Seventeen High Drama Liquid Eyeliner to do the nose, inner lips, forehead and chin lines. I definitely found that the felt tip worked better and I could be more precise and neat.
I also went back over the spiderweb with the Gosh Liner and had some strands shine blue in the light for more dimension.

Step Four
colour-details
The final step was to add some coloured swirls just to fill in the gaps and add a little extra something to this look. I used the ELF Waterproof Felt Tip Liner in Teal to create abstract swirls, I felt that this made the look more ritualistic and unusual almost as if they were swirly runes which I like but you don’t have to do that.

That concludes this look, if you enjoyed it please hit the like button and let me know in the comments if you would give this look a go. I’ve seen some beautifully done sugar skulls online so I’d definitely recommend that you check those out and experiment with colours to find out what works for you.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Crazy/Wacky Makeup, Makeup Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dia De Los Muertos | Sugar Skull Makeup Tutorial

  1. Sharmili R says:

    The look came out gorgeous! I really like the colors you chose 🙂

    Mili | Sharmtoaster

Leave a Reply

