Body Shop All-In-One Instablur Eye Primer Review

I’m a huge fan of eye primers, as someone who regularly wears eyeshadow or all different colours, an eye primer is so important to lock that shadow into place. Some of my favourites include the MUA Pro Base Eyeshadow Primer and the Urban Decay Anti-Ageing Primer Potion. The Body Shop Instablur range really intrigued me when it came out, I love blurring products so I was super excited to get my hands on this but I have to say…it’s a little strange.
instablur
The Body Shop All-In-One Instablur is described as a tinted concealer and primer. It comes in a little squeezy tube (which I love) and you get 10ml of product for £10.00 which I think is quite a lot.

The product description is as follows:
Our Instablur™ Eye may be small but it’s certainly mighty. Smooth onto your eyelids to help pro-long the wear and vibrancy of eyeshadows and apply under the eyes to conceal dark circles and smooth onto the eyelid to help pro-long the wear of eyeshadows and under the eye to conceal dark circles. You can also use this product to hide redness around the nose!

Once I opened this I have to say I did think that mine had expired. It comes out in a dry, crumbly paste which is tinted yellow. It does also smell quite strong and synthetic almost plastic like which was really alarming. If you apply this directly to the face it can end up balling up which is a nightmare, so I’ve found that the best way to do this is to apply to the hand, rub it to smooth it out then apply to the eye.
swatch
(
Swatch of the Instablur when applied directly from the tube.)

Once on the eyes, this does work well. It does have that silicone feeling that most blurring primers have and I apply this to my lids and under my eyes to reduce the dark circles. It does do a great job of intensifying my eyeshadows and increasing their longevity but the texture is really difficult to work with.

One thing that I have noticed is that this product does have a lot of bad reviews on the Body Shop website, the gritty texture is very strange and it can be a lot of fuss just to get your eye primer to work. I would say that it does work to prime and blur the eye area but every time I do use this I do feel a little nauseous looking at that lurid yellow stringiness.

Overall, I do like this for the priming properties and I will be using it up, but I have to admit I wouldn’t repurchase. The texture of this is quite disappointing as it makes priming so much more difficult than it needs to be which is such a shame and so I wouldn’t recommend this. I do have the Instablur primer for the face which I’m yet to try so fingers crossed that the face primer works better!

The Body Shop All-In-One Instablur Eye Primer is available here for £10.00.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried this eye primer and which eye primer you like to use!

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Eyes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

