Benefit Rollerlash Mascara Review

I have a feeling that this review is going to open a can of worms, mainly because this mascara has a huge cult following but I’m just going to come out and say it: I didn’t really get on with this. Before I start my review, I want to highlight two things, this isn’t a bad mascara and I am going to still use up my sample size of this but I have to say I was very underwhelmed…
mascara
I’m going to start with the packaging, this is the sample size so it doesn’t have the same lid but Ido really like it. The black and the pink look really sleek together and I really like the shiny, pink lid – it just appeals to my inner magpie. I got this sample in a Benefit Makeup Set, but the full size retails for £19.50 which is what I would call high end.

The product description is as follows:
It’s a roller for lashes! The eye-opening Hook ‘n’ Roll™ brush grabs, separates, lifts and curls…while the instant curve-setting formula holds for 12 hours. Contains provitamin B5 and serin, ingredients known for their lash-conditioning benefits.

Just in case the name didn’t tip you off, the main selling point of this mascara is the brush, it’s curved like a roller and is designed to hook into each and every lash to lift and curl. Now I have to be honest, although my lashes are quite fine, they are already curled, so I look for mascaras that can volumise, lengthen and separate (I don’t want muc do I?) I also tend to get on better with plastic brushes so I had high hopes for this.
wand
Although I do like this I felt that the brush was very flimsy and bendy so it was hard to create that friction between my lashes and the brush to really add the product to my lashes. Although this did curl them the end result was that my lashes looked rather wispy rather than fuller and thicker. I’m not one for spider lashes or clumping but this wasn’t as amazing as it had been described by so many bloggers and vloggers out there. Mascara’s always transfer on me and this one wasn’t any different, I also found the product to be very wet.
eyes-before
(Before: Not sure why my eyes look so scary here!)
eyes-after
(After: Wearing Rollerlash Mascara)

I definitely don’t hate this, but I do prefer something that has a little more grip, I felt that the brush didn’t really grip my lashes and I have to go in with a few coats to achieve this look. Personally, I prefer Benefit’s They’re Real Mascara and I actually feel that L’oreal’s Telescopic Mascara works better for me and it has a similar brush.

Overall, this isn’t a bad product but I think that for the price point and following the rather excellent PR campaign, I just hoped for a little more. It could be that I’m picky but I have had better results with cheaper mascaras, in essence this just didn’t do it for me so I wouldn’t repurchase.

The Benefit Rollerlash Mascara is available here for £19.50.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments what you think of this mascara are you firmly on the ‘love it’ side or were you a little disappointed?

Thanks for reading!
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Eyes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

