Illamasqua Nail Polish in Viridian Review

Although Illamasqua is one of my fvaourite beauty brands I’ve tried a few of their nail polishes and I’ve never been massively taken with them. That’s not to say I don’t like their nail polishes but to me, £14.50 is steep for one polish and I often found that Illamasqua’s polishes never truly blew me away until I discovered this…I was kindly given this by a friend a while ago and I’ve only just gotten around to trying it. (For those of you who think I take forever to try products that’s simply because I like to use what I have open first before cracking open new products.) Thankfully there couldn’t be a better time to try it, with Autumn knocking at out front door it’s time for transitional shades and what better than a deep metallic turquoise..?
polish
Viridian is described by Illamasqua as a “Peacock Green with a metallic finish” although I would describe it more as a blackened turquoise. This retails for £14.50 for 15ml which is admittedly pricey but I have to say I’ve never seen a shade quite like this before.

The colour itself is absolutely stunning, when it’s not in the light it appears as a smokey shade a deep gunmetal but then in the light it’s a beautiful metallic turquoise that almost seems to shift and ripple before your very eyes. I would wear this all year round but for people who like to stick to seasonal trends I think that this shade is perfect as a transitional shade between summer and autumn and autumn and winter.
swatch
The brush is a standard brush nothing particularly special about it, but one thing that I don’t like about this polish is the longevity. Although this is described as “chip resistant” but Illamasqua I found that this chipped within a couple of days and had to be replied every three days if I wanted a perfect manicure. It isn’t the worst polish I’ve tried in terms of chipping but I will admit that Barry M’s polishes last longer without chipping and are ten pounds cheaper.

Overall, the verdict of this is mixed, I do adore the shade it’s one of the most beautiful shades I’ve ever seen and I am really glad that it’s in my collection but I think that the formula does let it down ever so slightly and for that I think it is expensive for what it is. I would repurchase and recommend this but I’d advise you to search stores such as TK MAXX and online websites to find this shade at a lower price.

The Illamasqua Nail Polish in Viridian is available here for £14.50.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button. Do you like this shade? Would you pay £14.50 on a nail polish? Let me know in the comments!

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Nails and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

