Metallic Muse – Best and Worst of Metallic Makeup

I don’t know about you guys but I often get nervous when I read the word ‘metallic’ on a product. It’s not that I have anything against metallic beauty not at all but I often imagine something that’s very over the top and way too shiny. Although there is that common misconception, I have a few metallic beauty products that I use quite regularly so I thought it would be fun to share.
metallic
The Best:
Urban Decay Eyeshadows:
I love Urban Decay eyeshadows and some of their metallic shades are absolutely stunning. I particularly love the red toned metallic shades that they have created such as Salazen Grum in the Alice Through The Looking Glass Palette it manages to be flattering and chic looking whilst being metallic.
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencils:
I’ve only tried one of these so far and although these do have their faults (difficult to sharpen and product wastage) the metallic shades look beautiful, great for a pop of colour and they can be used on the waterline and tightline.
Topshop Glow in Polished:
This is a cream highlighter and I’d say it’s more pearlescent than metallic but it does remind me of liquid gold when I apply it to the cheeks and it offers that high shine finish. It;s something that I think is incredibly pretty and it can be worn under or over makeup.
Max Factor Colour Elixir Lipstick in Mulberry:
I would have never picked this shade out for myself, it’s a metallic red that sounds awful in theory and would have made me run a mile, but a friend of mine let me try this and I fell head over heels it’s super flattering and the metallic finish doesn’t look dated.
GOSH Nail Lacquer in Ocean:
I love this metallic turquoise shade especially in the summer. It’s hard to find a decent turquoise nail polish but GOSH have nailed it with this gorgeous teal shade shot through with gold, definitely one for the beach.
Revlon Top Speed Fast Dry Nail Enamel in Black Star:
Revlon have sadly discontinued these which is such a shame as they were amazing. Contrary to the name, Black Star is actually a metallic gunmetal grey with tiny flecks of shimmer, it’s such a chic alternative to black and looks great on the fingers and toes.

The Worst…
Kiko Cosmetics Crystal Eyeliner in Advanced Grass:
I love the shade of this but the formula is a pain. It is retractable so it has gone slightly blunt but for me the formula is very hard meaning that you can’t apply it to the waterline. The metallic finish does look great on the tightline but it does fade, I’ve tried better liners.
Ted Baker Lovely Lindyhop Nail Polish:
This is very similar to a No7 Nail Polish that I own, it’s a lovely metallic red shade but it chips quickly and then starts to look dull after a few days. I prefer my nail polishes to always look glossy so I’m not loving this one.

That concludes this post, if you enjoyed it please hit the like button and let me know in the comments what your thoughts are on metallic makeup, do you love it or hate it?

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

