Illamasqua Eye Colouring Pencil in Kontrol Review

Last year one of my all time favourite lipsticks had to be Illamasqua’s Kontrol, it was the first product by Illamasqua that I ever fell in love with and I’ve been having a love affair with their products ever since. I was kind enough to be given this eyeliner by a friend which made me incredibly happy as you always know that you’re winning in life when you can match your eyeliner to your lipstick…here’s my thoughts.
eyeliner
The Illamasqua Eye Colouring Pencil is this sleek pencil eyeliner in a blue violet shade. Kontrol is one of the most unique shades I’ve ever come across in makeup, it’s a blue toned purple that can look almost grey in some lights, it’s definitely different which is always appreciated by myself! I’m not sure how much this cost originally but the Illamasqua Eye Colouring Pencils retail for £16.00 on their website so I can’t imagine that they deviated too much from that figure.

There’s things that I like and dislike about this product, sadly because this isn’t retractable there is product wastage which is a shame because for the price I’d like every last bit of eyeliner please! One thing that I do really like is the drier formula of this, it’s soft enough to use on the waterline but the slightly drier formula of Illamasqua’s cosmetics means that the longevity is vastly increased. Unlike creamier eyeliners this stays put and doesn’t feather, crease, smudge or run.
swatch
I
 think that this liner is’t an exact match for the lipstick it definitely seems slightly brighter and more red toned that the lipstick but it is still a beautiful shade and we do have to take into account that this photo was taken in natural daylight. You can see from this photo that there’s a very clean line with no smudges.
one me
Sadly I think that this particular eyeliner has been discontinued which is a shame because it’s one of the few eyeliners that I could wear on my waterline and on my tightline as an eyeshadow. I think that once you do build this colour up like I have on my eyelid that it is a very similar if not an identical shade to the lipstick.

Overall, I do like this, I do have another one of these eye colouring pencils in the shade Debonair which is a beautiful sky blue so I’m looking forward to trying that out, if you do prefer a retractable or creamy formula Illamasqua have since launched some new eye products namely their Sketch Sticks and Slick Sticks, there is still some shades of the eye colouring pencils available also. I’m not sure if I’d repurchase this simply because I do find it a pain to sharpen it and I have lost some product already but if you are looking for some coloured eyeliners that stay put then I would point you in the direction of this range.

The Illamasqua Eye Colouring Pencils are available here for £16.00.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried any of the Illamasqua eyeliners, I definitely need to give the Sketch Sticks and Slick Sticks a try!

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Eyes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

