English Rose Makeup Tutorial

Despite being well and truly British I’ve never been an English Rose. Sadly, the pale skin with pink undertones, rosy cheeks and just bitten lips seemed to elude me and if anything I’d say that with my dark hair, dark eyes and olive skintone, I’m the complete opposite (and I’m okay with that.) Although I don’t naturally have that complexion I’ve been really enjoying using lip and cheek tints lately so I thought it would be fun to work them into a tutorial which led to this, I hope that you enjoy this post and let me know if you give this look a go!
Eyes:
eyes
Starting with eye makeup and this look is all about the rosy tones. I started by prepping my eyes with the MUA Pro Perfect Eyeshadow Base and then I applied the Maybelline Instant Eye Eraser Concealer under my eyes to counterract any blue tones. For eyeshadow I opted for my Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette as it’s packed with lovely rose hues. I applied the shade Limit across the lid as it’s a lovely cool toned, dusty rose shade. I then applied Nooner into the crease and blended that out. Finally for the inner corners and the brow bone I applied Strange which is a lovely pale cream. I went for all matte shades as I wanted this look to be as natural as possible. For liner I chose a nude shade which is the Rimmel London Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl in Nude and I applied this on my waterline. I wanted my lashes to look lengthened rather than volumised which meant that my Oriflame The One Wonder Lash Mascara was a perfect choice for my upper and lower lashes. Finally, I wanted my brows to look polished but natural so my Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz was my product of choice.
Face:
face
For my face it was all about carefully layering up products to look as airbrushed as possible without looking cakey. My skin has been on the oilier side due to the heat so I started by applying the Benefit Porefessional to my skin to prime the face. I then went in with concealer to even out my skin tone and I used the Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer across any blemishes. I applied a cream highlighter to my cheekbones, I’m really enjoying using liquid or cream highlighters underneath my foundation for a a natural glow so today I used the Topshop Glow in Polished across my cheekbones. I chose not to use bronzer or powder for this look as I wanted my skin to look like MSBB (that’s my skin but better) and I didn’t want any cakeyness. For my foundation I used the L’oreal True Macth Foundation I applied it with my Real Techniques Expert Face Brush first to even out the texture of my skin, then to tidy it up, prevent brush marks and to get a dewy effect I then added a second layer very thinly using my Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge. Blusher was the main focus of this look and I wanted it to look natural but very flushed and pretty so I chose to use the Benefit Benetint Cheek and Lip Tint. I applied this by dotting onto my cheeks and blending it out and then building up the layers. Once I was satisfied I took the same makeup sponge I’d used and just dabbed that over the cheeks to ensure that I didn’t have any unblended or sharp lines.
Lips:
lips
Lips were the hardest part of this look as I wanted a just bitten look. I started by patting the Benefit Benetint into my lips but I find that this can sometimes go patchy and sink into any lines or creases so I then applied the New CID Cosmetics Cheek and Lip Tint in Strawberry Souffle I patted this into the lips with a lip brush and made sure to blend it for a softer worn look. Once I was finished I took a tiny concealer brush and then carefully outlined the outside of my lip lines just to prevent it smearing.
look
This is the finished look and I’m really happy with it, I decided to wear my hair in a messy bun and I pulled out strands to soften the look, of course I had to wear something rose printed so I wore this lovely dress from H&M. I love this look for summer it’s very girly and feminine and lovely for this time of the year.

That concludes this tutorial, if you enjoyed it please hit the like button and let me know in the comments if you’ll be giving this look a try.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Makeup Tutorials, Wearable Makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

