Garnier Ultimate Blends Mythic Olive Weightless Nourisher Balm Review

My hair leans towards the dry side, I don’t dye it anymore but I don’t cut it as much as I probably should and it’s naturally quite frizzy so I’m always on the hunt for products that claim to smooth down my hair and generally hydrate it. I’d previously fallen in love with the L’oreal Extraordinary Oil in Creme and I also quite like the Garnier Strength Restorer products so I was pretty pleased when I got a sample of this Nourisher Balm in a magazine and was convinced that it would do my hair the world of good…
20160803_205946
This product usually comes in a large plastic tub with a screw on lid similar to most hair masks, of course this is a sample so it comes in this little sachet, the full sized product retails for £4.49.

The product description and claims are as follows:
Our Ultimate blend for dried out, brittle hair, Care for dried out, brittle hair with our powerful nourishing balm blended with Virgin Olive Oil, and Safflower Seed Oil.Our Ultimate blend for dried out, brittle hair:
* Intensely nourishes without weighing hair down.
* Enriched with virgin olive oil and safflower seed oil.
* Hair looks healthy, easy to detangle and soft to the touch.”

I usually use balms after washing and conditioning my hair, I brush through my hair and then apply the balm, depending on how dry my hair is I sometimes use this all over my hair and other times I’ll just apply it to the ends. Seeing as it’s been so warm I rubbed this between my hands then applied throughout my hair.

I’m going to be blunt here – I absolutely hated this. This seemed very heavy and it made my hair quite sticky, it was thicker than most hair balms and lotions I’ve used and when it dried my hair felt like it was jammed full of product, my hair actually got way drier and frizzier than it ever has been before and it was an absolute pain. Even worse no matter how many times I brushed through my hair this made my hair tangle like crazy it was an absolute nightmare and it was similar to when I once overbleached my hair.

I was really disappointed by this, usually I’d include a photo but my hair looked so horrible that I didn’t want people seeing it but it was BAD. Thankfully now after washing and conditioning my hair it’s back to it’s usual slightly dry but generally healthy condition and I feel much more relieved no more coarse, sticky, dryness that looks horrible. The best way I can think to describe this is you sprayed lots of dry shampoo and hairspray into wet hair.

I definitely wouldn’t recommend this or repurchase it, I’m not sure if there’s an active ingredient that just doesn’t like my hair or if it’s the product as a whole but I wouldn’t ever use this on my hair and I’d advise anyone to steer clear of this. I was super disappointed.

The Garnier Ultimate Blends Mythic Olive Weightless Nourishing Balm is available here for £4.49.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried this or have tried any other products that you’ve really disliked.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

 

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Hair and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

