Givenchy Hot Couture Eau De Parfum Review

There’s a common misconception when it comes to beauty and fragrance that the more expensive something is, the better it must be. Most bloggers don’t fall for this which always makes me feel relieved but I do know plenty of people who will also turn their nose up at something that isn’t designer. Take the Givenchy Hot Couture EDP, it’s Givenchy a designer brand that promises status but in actuality I have to say this isn’t a scent that I particularly like and the brand and price is irrelevant.
20160730_153439
In terms of the packaging I’m not a fan of this at all. The bottle is very tall and it can be difficult to store if you don’t have a lot of space for perfumes, many a time has this toppled off of my perfume rack and I find that although the pyramid style lid may look nice it’s actually sharp and not very practical. The remainder of the packaging is a clear bottle with a small sticker with the logo on it which to me doesn’t speak designer. If anything, to me the packaging is a little dull. Surprisingly in terms of price this isn’t expensive as I would have guessed, the 30ml of this retails for £28.50 at Boots, not cheap but by no means ridiculously expensive either.

The fragrance is described as:
Hot Couture is both glamorous and sophisticated. It is a fragrance for the confident, flirtatious and elegant woman. The fragrance combines sensuality and glamour with refinement and elegance.”

I have to say the design and the scent does connote sophistication and elegance, it’s a scent that’s a little sharp and potent to my nose but the simplistic design, the shape of the bottle and the notes are all things that would point towards a woman who wants to be seen as chic – I actually find that this feels a little mature for me.

The Perfume Notes are as follows:
Top Notes: Orange, Raspberry, Bergamot.
Heart Notes:
Magnolia, Vetiver, Pepper.
Base Notes: Sandalwood, Amber, Musk.

If I read the notes and hadn’t smelled this I would assume that it would be a fruity scent with a sweet based and maybe a slightly smokey center but this actually smells vry different. I personally can’t detect the Raspberry or the Amber at all which saddens me as Raspberry is one of my favourite scents and perfume notes.

The first spray of this is very strong smelling and a mixture of floral and smokey I think that the most prominent notes of this are the Pepper and Vetiver which come to the surface immediately. This does sweeten as it settles down but again it has that sharp edge to it which is something that I personally just don’t like.

On the bottle this is described as an Oriental Fruity and although I can’t really smell the fruits I do think that this is a very oriental scent and that’s probably why it’s not for me, I like something, playful and fruity and I just don’t get that with this.

Overall, I personally am not a fan of this but that’s not to say that you won’t like this, I think if you’re a fan of the more complex and sophisticated fragrances then it may be worth giving this a whiff, but if like me, you like something a little sweeter and younger then stay clear of this one.

The Givenchy Hot Couture Eau De Parfum Spray is available here for £28.50 for 30ml.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have given this a try or if you like any of the Givenchy scents, I don’t mind Live Irresistible personally.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Body and Fragrance and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

