Estee Lauder Pure Color Envy Matte Sculpting Lipstick in Shameless Violet Review

You know a product name is too long when your blog post title doesn’t have enough space…Aside from that though in case you haven’t already guessed today I’ll be reviewing the Estee Lauder Pure Color Envy Matte Sculpting Lipstick in Shameless Violet. I’ve not actually tried any Estee Lauder lipsticks in the past but a while ago Estee Lauder had a deal on where if you bought two products (one had to be foundation or skincare) you got a free gift of different products, needless to say this was one of the products I picked up.
20160730_142415
The Estee Lauder Pure Color Envy Sculpting Lipsticks come not only in a fancy box but also in this very luxurious packaging. The packaging feels quite weighty and is magnetic in the colours of navy blue and gold which are Estee Lauders signature colours. These lipsticks are priced at £25.50 which are very expensive and around the same price as the YSL lipsticks.
20160730_142428
Shameless Violet is a rich blue toned purple shade that is very autumnal. I’m not quite sure why I did pick this shade as I don’t tend to wear purples much anymore but nevertheless this is a nice pruple.

The formula is not fully matte but more semi-matte in my opinion, it’s a very creamy formula that glides onto the lips and doesn’t dry out, wear time is a few hours so you will need to top this up as it does start to fade from the centre of the lips outwards, but that is to be expected with a deep shade and a creamy formula like this.

Estee Lauder claims that this lipstick “goes on in one stroke” and is designed to shape the curves of the lips. I will agree that this does go on with minimal coats due to the rich formula, however, the lipstick is shaped like any other lipstick I don’t think anything is particularly special about the shape of the lipstick itself.

If anything, I found this a little more tricky to apply simply because a) I have my lip pierced and b) the formula is so creamy that it is easy to smear it everywhere so you do have to take a little more time with this particular shade rather than just swiping it and leaving it. The colour payoff is quite impressive however, which I think is what makes these lipsticks so popular.
20160730_142551
As you can see my lips do have an even coating and this doesn’t cling to any dry patches which is always a bonus. The colour is quite bold and out there so if you’re not a fan of bold lip colours then this definitely isn’t one for you, however, the range is fairly extensive with a lot of different shades in that you can choose from so if you are interested in trying this range then you’re bound to find a shade that you like.

Overall, I’m not obsessed with this lipstick and I’m not sure how often I will wear it so I probably shouldn’t have chosen this colour, but it is nice for fans of purple lips and I would wear this on a night out. The formula is nice but it’s not special enough to make me want to pay £25.50 per lipstick, if you are looking for a rich high end lipstick formula though then you may get on with this.

The Estee Lauder Pure Color Envy Matte Sculpting Lipsticks are available here for £25.50.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried any Estee Lauder lipsticks and if you would give them a go.

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

 

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Lips and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

