The Book Corner

I’m a huge fan of reading and after recently being lucky enough to receive a Kindle from my boyfriend’s dad I’ve been reading even more than usual working my way through several books a week. I find it quite difficult to find decent book recommendations (although thanks to Goodreads that’s no longer an issue) so I thought I’d share with you some of my book recommendations, I hope that you enjoy this post!
book
1) Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1) by George RR Martin
“Summers span decades. Winter can last a lifetime. And the struggle for the Iron Throne has begun. As Warden of the north, Lord Eddard Stark counts it a curse when King Robert bestows on him the office of the Hand. His honour weighs him down at court where a true man does what he will, not what he must … and a dead enemy is a thing of beauty. The old gods have no power in the south, Stark’s family is split and there is treachery at court. Worse, the vengeance-mad heir of the deposed Dragon King has grown to maturity in exile in the Free Cities. He claims the Iron Throne.”

I’m steadily working my way through the A Song of Ice and Fire Series and I’m currently about to read A Dance With Dragons. I actually saw the TV show of this first and then decided to give the books a try and I really enjoy them. This has typical elements of fantasy, inspired by the War of the Roses this offers a historical setting with plenty of dragons and murders to keep you on your toes. Despite being fantasy this is written in a simplified way which really works to make this an enjoyable read.
Warning: Themes of sex and violence throughout.

2) A Quick Bite (Argeneau #1) by Lynsay Sands
“That hot guy tied to Lissianna Argeneau’s bed? He’s not dessert – he’s the main course! Lissianna has been spending her centuries pining for Mr. Right, not just a quick snack, and this sexy guy she finds in her bed looks like he might be a candidate. But there’s another, more pressing issue: her tendency to faint at the sight of blood…an especially annoying quirk for a vampire. Of course it doesn’t hurt that this man has a delicious-looking neck. What kind of cold-blooded vampire woman could resist a bite of that? Dr. Gregory Hewitt recovers from the shock of waking up in a stranger’s bedroom pretty quickly – once he sees a gorgeous woman about to treat him to a wild night of passion. But is it possible for the good doctor to find true love with a vampire vixen, or will he be just a good meal? That’s a question Dr. Greg might be willing to sink his teeth into…if he can just get Lissianna to bite.”

One for the vampire lovers, Lynsay Sands Argeneau series follows a family of vampires who find their life mates. This series is quite light hearted and fluffy so if you’re a fan of romance and happily ever afters then this is something that you will want to get on board with. The books do have a repetitive structure and basic storyline but they’re great for curling up with after a long day at work.

3) Can You Keep A Secret (Standalone) by Sophie Kinsella
“Meet Emma Corrigan, a young woman with a huge heart, an irrepressible spirit, and a few little secrets: Secrets from her boyfriend: I’ve always thought Connor looks a bit like Ken. As in Barbie and Ken. Secrets from her mother: I lost my virginity in the spare bedroom with Danny Nussbaum while Mum and Dad were downstairs watching Ben-Hur. Secrets she wouldn’t share with anyone in the world: I have no idea what NATO stands for. Or even what it is. Until she spills them all to a handsome stranger on a plane. At least, she thought he was a stranger.…Until Emma comes face-to-face with Jack Harper, the company’s elusive CEO, a man who knows every single humiliating detail about her..”

The ultimate rom-com if you’re a fan of love stories and downright silliness then this is a must read. The story follows Emma who in a fit of panic spills all of her secrets to a complete stranger…every damn one. What makes this extra funny is that he just so happens to be the CEO of the company where she works. Hilarity ensues and this story is great for reminding ourselves that ‘it could always be worse!’

4) Gossip Girl (Gossip Girl#1) by Cecily Von Ziegesar
“Welcome to New York City’s Upper East Side, where my friends and I live, go to school, play, and sleep—sometimes with each other. S is back from boarding school, and if we aren’t careful, she’s going to win over our teachers, wear that dress we couldn’t fit into, steal our boyfriends’ hearts, and basically ruin our lives in a major way. I’ll be watching closely . . .You know you love me, gossip girl.”

The books series that inspired the hit television programme, Gossip Girl is worth a read. This has received some controversy for being aimed at the teenage market but in all honesty I first read this when I was young and yes it has some sensitive subjects but is nevertheless a great read. If you’re a fan of young adult books rife in scandal and mystery then this is a must read.

5) Go Ask Alice (Standalone) by Anonymous (Beatrice Sparks)
January 24th
After you’ve had it, there isn’t even life without drugs…. 
It started when she was served a soft drink laced with LSD in a dangerous party game. Within months, she was hooked, trapped in a downward spiral that took her from her comfortable home and loving family to the mean streets of an unforgiving city. It was a journey that would rob her of her innocence, her youth — and ultimately her life. Read her diary. Enter her world. You will never forget her.”

I’m not typically one for the whole depressing kind of story but I have to admit this was incredibly thought provoking and the character stays with you long after you’ve turned the final page. This is hauntingly sad so probably not one for the train! To me, the author really has captured the struggle of being a teenager which is only emphasised by the character’s addiction to drugs.

6) Noughts and Crosses (Noughts and Crosses#1) by Malorie Blackman
I wasn’t sure how I’d find this as I find that young adult dystopian books can often be quite angsty but this one was a great read. There’s some tragedy in here mixed with danger and a really interesting concept. This is a unique subversion of racism by Malorie Blackman and I’d definitely recommend giving it a go, particularly if you enjoy young adult fiction.

That wraps up this post, I hope that you liked it and if you’d like more recommendations let me know in the comments. If like me, you’re a nosy parker feel free to find me on Goodreads here to see what books I’m reading at the moment!

Thanks for reading.
love_nina



Noughts and Crosses

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

