Illamasqua Hydra Veil Primer Review

I’ve coveted Illamasqua products for a while now and at Christmas I was lucky enough to receive several Illamasqua products from my boyfriend. One product that I was particularly excited by was the Hydra Veil Primer, it’s a really innovative product and if you’re yet to see this then you’re in for a treat…
hydra veilspatula
The Illamasqua Hydra Veil comes in this large plastic tub with a screw on lid, I really like this as inside we have another flip up lid with the spatula attached. This is a very expensive primer at £32.00 but I have to say it’s the best primer I’ve ever tried and if you suffer from dry or dehydrated skin then it’s a godsend. I have combination skin on the drier end of the spectrum, I also have sensitivity and eczema and I like my primers to adhere my makeup to my face.
set
You may be wondering why a spatula is needed? Well this product is unique in the fact that it has a unique jelly consistency, Illamasqua describe this as a “part hydrator part primer” it remains in jelly form until you use the spatula to mix it to help to liquify it once mixed you can apply a small amount of the liquidesque jelly to the skin.

Illamasqua describe this product as follows:
Part hydrator, part primer, Hydra Veil instantly hydrates and smooths skin through a self-levelling, futuristic clear gel. Microalgae, Vitamin C and B3 work together to help maintain skins hydration levels, creating a healthy looking, balanced finish. Plant extracts also provide a calming and refreshing feeling, leaving skin fully prepped to apply your chosen foundation.
mixed
As you can see this is a unique concept, and once the spatula is removed give this a few minutes and it’ll return back to it’s jelly form, as someone who is partial to a gimmick I actually love this.

So how does the primer feel? Well if you’re looking for something that will fill in proes, blur and perfect then this probably isn’t the primer for you, but this is really good if you have dry skin and find that your foundation can sometime cling to dry patches. I’ve been using this and I’ve found that it’s very light and refreshing on the face, it really soothes and calms and it makes my skin really soft and hydrated meaning that my foundation goes on perfectly.

Overall, I absolutely adore this, it is pricey but if you can afford it and suffer with dry skin then it’s definitely worth a try, I would recommend it to those with dry skin and I would repurchase it myself.

The Illamasqua Hydra Veil Primer is available here for £32.00 with free UK delivery.

I hope that you enjoyed this post and if you did please hit the like button, let me know in the comments if you have tried anything like this before! Illamasqua also have a Matte Veil and a Radiance Veil if that’s more of your thing!

Thanks for reading.
love_nina

About ninarossbeauty

PR Person and Beauty Blogger who has a soft spot for eyeshadows, lipsticks and anything quirky. You can contact me at ninarossjournal@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Face and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Illamasqua Hydra Veil Primer Review

  1. rachelhailesx says:

    This looks amazing, it’s definitely going on my wishlist! :O xx

Leave a Reply

